The Garlic Patch

in #garlic6 years ago (edited)


April 2018 has been almost 50% colder than last year here in the Southern Ontario GTA and so the garlic plants did not grow much for an entire month. They just sort of hunkered down as best they could and waited until now and then in just 48 hours of the first warm up they have responded with great enthusiasm. I felt it was such a significant development that I had to add it. This evening apparently the rains will commence thru tomorrow so I expect this will give it the water it seems to almost be asking for, if I am hearing it right. It just kinda whispers to me..water..water..

As you may know there is four rows that you can see. In each of them is a different cultivar. To name them they are in no particular order. Romanian Red, Georgia Crystal, Polish, and our local garlic variety which I am going to guess is possibly a German Red. I planted this one because it is a real trooper to weather the Spring freezes and floods and also because it is a mild and juicy but quite tasty variety. The other varieties I think will probably be pungent and hot. Which is fine with me, because that is what I like in my garlic. As they get bigger I will begin to focus on differences between the cultivars and will more closely identify and feature each one. I will have to consult my garlic map because off hand I dont' really know which is which at the moment.


▶️ DTube
▶️ IPFS

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.28
TRX 0.13
JST 0.032
BTC 65935.31
ETH 3015.23
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.75