My "Musical Menu"

in #gaseous-cooking5 years ago (edited)

20190212_125848.jpg

Among the ingredients for Chili I bought yesterday,
were beans of course.
I've always used canned Red Kidney beans (usually both light and dark red)
Pinto, Black and Great Northern beans.(white)

This time, since I was being frugal, I saw dried beans in all those
varieties,at a better price (by a long shot) than canned.
I've done dried beans before, but I think it was only Black Eyed peas,
so I am familiar with the 'quick soak' and 'soak overnight' methods.

The G Northern said to over soak was to risk them splitting in half
(like there were germinating)
So I put my measure of all the dried beans in a pot, covered with water,
brought them to a good hard boil, then covered and
removed them from the heat.
For the next hour while they were soaking, I browned the lb of G Beef
(very lean) and the tube of Mexican Chorizo sausage meat
(highly seasoned).

what I used was pork Chorizo
There was hardly anything to drain off the meat.
I found a lot of good buys in the marked down meat section,
stuff that was about to go out of date

When the time was up for the beans, I poured off that water,
put the meat and beans in my crock pot along with a
finely diced onion, a can of 'chili ready tomatoes', and
covered the whole thing with water,
and went to bed. Cooker on low.

About 3 am, I woke up to pee
and smelled the chili cooking all the
way in my bedroom.
When I'd finished my business, I went to the kitchen to
get some juice to drink (and check).

I was alarmed to find almost all the liquid gone from my
chili! The beans had absorbed/soaked it all up, and
if I hadn't come in, they would most likely have
burned and been ruined.

I added some more water, turned it to "stay warm" and
went back to bed.
Of course, I tasted it, and it was not burned, in fact,
it was quite tasty, and the beans were still just a tad crunchy.
I woke up several hours later to some very
'aromatic music' in my bedroom. 😉

I didn't buy any bell peppers nor Cilantro nor Tomatillo nor
Garlic yesterday, and since it is supposed to come a
torrential rain this afternoon,
I went back to the store this morning.

It began raining very hard about 45 min ago
Upon my return, I diced the new ingredients, added
all of the above, with some "Ancho Chili Powder"
(Made from poblano peppers, very dark and rich flavor),
hot sauce, and the green poblano pepper.

It has all been cooking now for almost 3 hrs, and man I
mean it is good.
I just wish I had thought to buy some baking soda, to
"disarm" the beans.
I will most certainly have to freeze a LOT of this.

"My Musical Menu"

by
Jerry E Smith
©2/12/2019
all photos taken by me with my LG Stylo 4 cellphone


These .gifs were created for me by @coquiunlimited; many thanks





Sort:  

The Chili is all divvied up into containers for freezing, leaving a couple of helpings out.
I Sliced up one Cucumber and put it in pickle vinegar, along with 2 stalks of celery. I've still got two cucumbers and a lot of celery, but I snack on celery, and make sammiches out of cucumber, so hopefully I'll use those things up before they go bad.
I save the tops and leaves of celery, freezing them for when I make Veggie stew, and I've got a bunch of that saved up too.
Not sure where or how I'll fit all these containers in my freezer.
I'll try to give some chili to my friend, but earlier when I showed it to him, at first said he'd come eat with me later, but then when I tried to get him to taste it, he said that sometimes Chili doesn't agree with him.
Why do people have to send out such mixed messages? :/

()

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.31
TRX 0.11
JST 0.034
BTC 64332.82
ETH 3146.25
USDT 1.00
SBD 4.17