How a flirty seductive look gave me confidence

in #gay6 years ago (edited)

I currently consider myself to be fluid in my sexuality. I hate to say that I don't like labels because it seems like something very cliché to say, but I mostly am okay to identify myself as being gay or queer. It's something that is very explicitly expected to say nowadays, but some people get really into specifics.

I've taken a significant amount of queer courses at the university level and even almost majored in queer studies. Yes, it's an actual major and more universities are offering programs. In fact, San Diego State University has a great program and I happened to have studied at a different college but with the same tenacity. One of my queer studies professors, is often seen making the rounds in TV news shows when an LGBT issue is in the spotlight. I'm only saying this to justify my way of thinking towards labels and identifying as fluid, gay, or queer.*

C4A35658-91CB-4882-8349-D5B0F9B5FB0B.jpeg
credit:

Anyhow,

seduction has always been prevalent in my life. At least, after the weird teenage years I faced, it became sort of a game. A game that would often just trigger questions like: Is this really happening to me? Are they even into me? Am I just misinterpreting all these signs? Is this going to be a disappointment? Is this really going to go down?

All these thoughts have come to my mind when I randomly happen to cross paths with someone that I'm attracted to and feel they are attracted to me too.

It's happened to me while driving, walking, running, being in public transportation, and being just anywhere.

Being a member of a minority, both ethnically speaking and sexually, really makes these unique seductive connections more profound. In fact, these connections can often be misinterpreted and can cause some stress or even embarrassment in one's life.

One of my first attempts at seduction, was a big fail. I was in high school and there was a really attractive foreign exchange boy that I was very interested in. He was from Denmark and I believe his name was something like Christian Widerman. We had a great connection and chemistry. We got along very well and we laughed constantly. He was transferred to a different school nearby and we remained friends and tried constantly to meet with each other as much as possible.

1442E2F1-C1FD-4792-AC63-11FFF96221C2.jpeg
credit:

Well, Christian was going to leave in the end of the semester and I decided that I was going to tell him that I was attracted to him before he would leave. This way, he would know that I was attracted to him and we would be able to do something together before he left. Also, if he didn't feel the same then he would soon leave and it wouldn't be my issue anymore.

I emailed him and let him know about my feelings by basically telling him that I thought I was attracted to guys. I never mentioned him in particular. I just told him that I thought I was attracted to guys. Needless to say, when we met again I brought it up and he simply said "oh, I've known people like that and there's nothing wrong with it."

He left the next day and we never saw the stars together at night and held each other how I envisioned it. Perhaps, I misunderstood his demeanor and fashion sense because of his European background and attitude.

Nevertheless, my luck has been getting significantly better throughout the years and today I felt a sort of seduction spark. Perhaps, I was reading too much into it and nothing will probably come of it. The feeling was very thrilling and something I haven't felt in awhile.

I went to a liquor store that is a few blocks away to purchase two beers for my Brother and me. The store was recently renovated and has a new owner who usually works there along with another employee. The new owner is really attractive Middle-Eastern guy. I've seen him maybe about six times. I've never have tried to flirt with him or even remotely let him know I'm LGBT or whatever. I haven't really felt attractive in awhile and this town is very small. Also, I don't think my sexuality is anyone's business and I'm often blinded by what people would consider gaydar.

I guess I do have some kind of gaydar but it has also disappointed me in the past and flat out failed me.

Nonetheless , as I got into the store the owner started to walk by the side towards the back of the store. I went a different route and went straight to look at the ice cold refrigerated beer.

I was just browsing looking at the prices and types of beer, when I noticed a person was on the other side, behind the beer, just starting at me. It was the attractive owner. I immediately just froze and pretended to browse at other beer nearby. I pretended that I didn't notice him staring at me.

I often don't try to flirt with others when I don't feel I'm in the same level as them, I'm not interested, or I just don't think nothing will come of it.

Anyhow, I quickly grabbed two beers and headed towards the front of the store to pay. An employee was taking care of the cash register, while the owner was in the back as the owner usually handles the cash register. There was a person in front of me, so I just waited for a minute.

My turn came along and the employee asked me for Identification. I got my ID and handed it to him. He looked slightly baffled. Obviously, I'm over 21 and have been for awhile and still can look extremely young to some people. The owner came from the back and then got behind the register as the other employee was looking at my ID. The employee told the owner "what do you think?"

The owner looked sheepishly and said "it's fine, he's older than me." He almost made me laugh out loud as he took over the register from the employee.

He quickly rang me up and as he handed my change back he explicitly looked intently straight into my eyes with this slightly crooked smirk. If he was a child, I would of defined his smirk as mischievous if that. However, he just looked so perfect, handsome and daring.

It really made me lose my breathe and I quickly felt like a deer infront of headlights. Perhaps, he made his way to the front after seeing me selecting the beer (is all I could think). I became very nervous as he looked at me so intensely. I hurried and got my bag and said "thanks, I really appreciate it" and left.

C81F3A9C-CAAA-4A5A-B323-1D66973F850B.jpeg
credit:

I couldn't get him out of my head. In fact, I even mentioned to my relative about how the employee there didn't think my ID was real and how the owner was the hero of the day.

The fact that I find the owner very sexy is also very thrilling. I haven't felt a spark like this in a long time and it makes my mind just wonder. I feel like I want to be a better person just because of that look he gave me. I felt attractive again. Somehow, it gave me an ounce of confidence that I hadn't had in such a long time.

It really amazes me how sometimes things so small can make such big impact in your life. My liquor store experience really made my day so much better. I really had lost so much confidence, awhile back, and I was okay with that, but today that confidence emerged.

By @hunkyfruit
All images are from unsplash to read their free use license click here

Sort:  

I can relate in part, but I also think that being good looking can be a curse.
I think people do not take me seriously even when I am the smartest person in the room, not to mention people I am not attracted to who continue to pry and it is hard to have friends who don't want to bone you

Heyja! You've got a upvote from @PRP-LGBT, the Curation & Magazine Account for content like yours!

I'm conflicted. Because I want to upvote this great post, but you've used two images that are copyrighted.

https://www.liveabout.com/legal#terms

LiveAbout Intellectual Property

Your Limited License to our Intellectual Property

The materials used and displayed on the Site, including but not limited to text, software, photographs, graphics, illustrations and artwork, video, music and sound, and names, logos, trademarks and service marks, are the property of LiveAbout, About, Inc., or its affiliates or licensors and are protected by copyright, trademark and other laws. Any such content may be used solely for your personal, non-commercial use. You agree not to modify, reproduce, retransmit, distribute, disseminate, sell, publish, broadcast or circulate any such material without the prior written permission of LiveAbout. LiveAbout grants you a personal, non-exclusive, non-transferable, revocable license to use the Site and any materials on the Site for non-commercial purposes subject to these Terms of Use.

https://www.pridemedia.com/legal-notice

Copyright

All text, images, videos other content (“Content”) used on or incorporated into websites or other digital properties (“Services”) that link to this legal notice are subject to copyrights held by or licensed to Here Publishing Inc. or its subsidiaries or affiliates (“Here Publishing”). All rights thereto are specifically reserved. Any reproduction, distribution, retransmission, modification, public display, public performance or other exploitation of the Content is strictly prohibited without Here Publishing’s prior written consent. To inquire about consent, send a written request to: Here Publishing Inc., Attn: Legal Affairs, P.O. Box 241579, Los Angeles, CA 90024.

Unless Here Publishing agrees otherwise in writing, if permission is granted to reproduce and distribute Content owned by Here Publishing, then you may do so only for non-commercial, educational and personal uses only, provided that such Content remains unaltered and is accompanied by a clearly visible copy of the Here Publishing copyright notice and a link to the URL page on which the Content was published.

Please check out Steemit's FAQ Page regarding copyright. I don't want to see you get flagged for copyright infringement.

@ancapbarbie I replaced all the images & provided a link regarding the free use of the images on the post. Thank you, for bringing this to my attention. I was under the impression I've could use any image as long as it was credited. I've fixed that issue.

There are a number of sites such as Pixabay, Pexels, and Unsplash which host CC0 images that are free to use including for commercial purposes, which Steemit is unless you refuse payout for the post. In that case, you may use free for non-commercial use images like I did in this post. As a general rule: When in doubt, assume it's copyrighted. Just about every site has a terms of use or legalese page that specifies their copyright policy. It's still a good policy to source your images, even if they are CC0, so there's no doubt in your reader's mind, and it's nice to credit the content creator even if you're not required to do so. :)

Hi your post has been upvoted by vis4, the LGBT+ curation bot! Come and visit us on Discord

lgbtbannerdirty0.png

Congratulations @hunkyfruit! You received a personal award!

Happy Birthday! - You are on the Steem blockchain for 1 year!

You can view your badges on your Steem Board and compare to others on the Steem Ranking

Do not miss the last post from @steemitboard:

SteemitBoard - Witness Update
SteemitBoard to support the german speaking community meetups
Vote for @Steemitboard as a witness to get one more award and increased upvotes!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.28
TRX 0.13
JST 0.032
BTC 61367.99
ETH 2929.04
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.67