Star Wars and Toys - A little sister story

in #geek6 years ago (edited)


I’m still incredibly bitter about the toy situation back in 1977. Some of you may not know nor remember, but a certain movie came along that made a huge impact on me and my older brother. By the time Christmas rolled around, I was five and he was almost seven. Star Wars ruled our worlds.

As you know from my Mutant post, my brother's views on television and movies were first choice in our household. In this situation, however, unlike cheesy Marvel TV shows, how could you argue that Star Wars wasn't the coolest movie of all time? It was AWESOME. I went happily with my big brother as many times as my parents would take us. So when Christmas time came, the gifts were placed under the tree from Santa. Eagerly I awaited my presents, but I was devastated. All the Star Wars toys were for my brother. There were no Star Wars toys for me. I'm a girl. THESE are for boys.


WHAT?!?

Okay, okay. I was happy with the gifts I received. I know I was fortunate to have gifts at Christmastime, blah blah blah .... But I really wanted those Star Wars toys. To reenact the scenes from the movie, and use that little lever on Luke's arm to extend the light saber and defeat the evil Darth Vader and save the galaxy! He even had Leia with a cape! There were removable CAPES!?! Come on! Give a girl a little something!

Nope. This was my gift that year:

The Family Tree House. Aw, shucks, I have to admit, my gift was awesome, too. I truly loved that little tree house. You could pack all the accessories and people inside, push down the treetop, and it would close up. Then, you would press a button at the top and POP - It would open the little secret tree house. You could take it anywhere...

Like into your brother's room!

Carefully I would sneak in, note where all the toys were previously placed, and then Luke, Han and Leia would save my little tree house family from the stormtroopers and evil Lord Vader. It was even more wonderful when my little figures fit perfectly into a Land Speeder! Thank you, Kenner!

And so, when he was reading those silly little soap opera comics at his buddy's house, I packed up my little tree house, I snuck into his room, and I played. Oh you bet your bootie I played with ALL my brother's action figures -
Every last one in the Darth Vader carrying case. (Thank you, @lordvader, for such an organized means of storage.) And together, the Jedi and the Tree House Family would travel to a long time ago, in a galaxy far, far away.

photo 1
photo 2
photo 3
photo 4
photo 5
photo 6

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.27
TRX 0.11
JST 0.030
BTC 71342.73
ETH 3809.46
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.49