Furnace Town Heritage Site, Maryland with Market Friday

in #gems4 years ago (edited)

Today is #MarketFriday initiated by @dswigle (Denise, that's me!!) Join me as we share our markets across the globe. I always look forward to seeing what you send me! It is amazing to see the different markets and cultures of our friends here on the blockchain. Right now we are challenged with our world being under duress, so we do the best we can. Because of my schedule, I can only bring you one that I posted last year and for this, I apologize and hope some of you haven't seen it. To be honest with you, I remembered it was Thursday night at 11:30 PM. So without further excuses... This week, we will be going to the Old Furnace Town Heritage Museum in Maryland.


IMG_0241.JPG


The Old Furnace Town Heritage Museum is an outdoor museum near Snow Hill, Maryland that uses a living history format with live demonstrations to re-create a vanished 19th century community. Totally cool. The artisans sit at the loom and weave all day. Unfortunately, she was out when I was there, but she left her work from the day before.

Spools of thread — at Furnace Town Historic Site.


image.png


When I first traveled down South, I had never seen a cotton field before, so I stopped and got out of the car in South Carolina and picked a stalk, which I have kept all these years. I was totally fascinated by it. I was also surprised at how dirty it was.

image.png

Most people today associate weaving with women and believe it has always been that way. It would surprise many to learn that weaving is traditionally a man's job, especially in countries like Germany, where a lot of cotton was grown. It wasn't until the introduction of more mechanized methods of weaving, around 1870, that women really started to enter the workforce. By then, women could be easily taught how to use the machines and places like Lowell, MA experienced a boom. To this day, men still weave among Native American tribes, such as the Navajo, and some of the best weavers in the world are men.

image.png

Separador_by_mille1234d80r2bh.png

Cloth is usually woven on a loom, a device that holds the warp threads in place while filling threads are woven through them.

image.png

lineacorazon.jpg

Please leave the link to your post on here so it can easily be found by others. It helps you and me to have them in one place. Where else can you take such a quick trip around the globe? Thank you so much for joining us!! ❤

image.png

Bolts of a woven fabric — at Furnace Town Historic Site.

You too can experience a traditional weaving class called: Introduction to Weaving. Truly an art! This two-hour course will cover all the basics of weaving. You will plan a project, and create a one of a kind place setting.

All participants will make their own place setting to take home. No prior skills required.

image.png

Two historic treadle looms almost fill the Weaver’s House, which includes a warping board, triangle loom, carders, and more tools of the weaving trade. Both looms are used in making rugs, table runners, placemats, hot mats, mug rugs, and tote bags. The triangle loom is used to make shawls.


image.png

Weaving meshed together threads that run in two different directions, and was done on homemade "handlooms". Without a loom, settlers could not weave cloth for making clothes, sheets, or blankets. The weaver threw a shuttle, which carried the crosswise thread (weft) back and forth between the lengthwise threads (warp), then used the beater to push the crosswise thread against the already-woven material to form a flat, smooth piece of cloth. As well as weaving cloth, settlers used their looms to weave rag rugs. Some settlers brought their rags to the weaver, who wove them into rugs for a fee. — at Furnace Town Historic Site.


IMG_0188.JPG

Furnace Town
Located At: 3816 Old Furnace Road, Snow Hill, MD 21863
Phone: 410-632-2032
Email: [email protected]
Website: www.furnacetown.org
Hours of operation:
April 1st through October 31st
Mon-Sat 10am to 5pm & Sundays 12-5
About this museum:

Enjoy a relaxing visit into 19th-century village life. Located in the heart of the Pocomoke Forest, Furnace Town is home to Maryland's only bog ore iron furnace. The furnace is situated 5 miles north of Snow Hill on the banks of Nassawango Creek. Furnace Town and its Nassawango Iron Furnace (recognized by The American Society of Mechanical Engineers as a National Historic Mechanical Engineering Landmark) comprise an educational site of local archaeological and historical interest. The furnace and buildings are being restored, preserved and interpreted by Furnace Town Foundation, Inc.

separador.png

Fridays are all about the #MarketFriday Challenge! Looking to take part in it? Here is how:

How to Participate:

1. Go to the market! Any market will do! Food, Clothing, Plant or Animal, if you wish. You can go to the zoo or an art auction. Anywhere or anything that you pay money for a service. I once went to a nail salon.
2. Take pictures! Be creative (or not)
3. Tell us a little bit about the market, what brought you here?
4. Post the picture(s)
5. Don’t forget to post it to the MarketFridayCommunity #hive-196308 or hashtag it! #MarketFriday by @dswigle
6. Drop the link to your post here so I can easily find them

It is always interesting to see the different markets around the globe! C’mon! Show me your market shots! I eagerly await them!


STOP!! BRAIN TEASER AHEAD!!


Question: What do the numbers 11, 69 and 88 have in common?

source


Answer! Can you guess??? They read the same right side up and upside down!!


divider2.png


red rise.jpg

As always, there must be a flower. Always. #alwaysaflower To color my world. This flower is dedicated to #FridaySkyBlue #ColorChallenge by @Kalemandra, who colors my world every day.

And just like that, this post is done. I hope you had a good time and learned a little something new. As always, I want to thank you for taking the time to visit #MarketFriday!! Thank you for supporting the challenge! Have a most fabulous day! Cheers!!


IMG_0246.JPG

Let the sun shine in on your life
So the joy may touch your soul

IMG_8115.JPG





I have been discovering new places, every day! I love to share and be shared with! I am intrigued by different cultures. It is exciting and yes! I would love to see yours! Don't forget to take photos wherever you happen to be shopping - whether it be the grocery store, the local marketplace, or even an art gallery, a kite festival! Wherever money is exchanged for a service or for merchandise. Be different if you wish! It does not have to be a traditional market! We will love it! Don't forget to use the Market Friday Community page #hive-196308 or hashtag #MarketFriday and @dswigle.


B69zEhWZA8UBvwpPuizsfz2BSKyPpR2EfU2NDGY4pk6pYwLTXrfrBEsJCewmYernQJoGPzGzZJw3jyNQhqft5VXj62T5shNRGQkMKi2z.jpg

Please wear a mask when you go out and use proper social distancing.




Facebook

Twitter

Instagram



Thank you for visiting my post 💖 Because of you, I come back to post again and again, I am encouraged by you, for the time you take to visit, comment or even upvote. For all of these reasons, I am eternally grateful. Don't ever forget what a wonderful world we live in, people. Some days, it is not as easy to see, how wonderful it really is. Kindness counts. Wherever you go, whatever you do.


I always post this poem down at the bottom of my posts. It is one that has become so near and dear to my heart. I only post the most famous part of it, but, wanted to post it in its entirety today.

they set my aunts house on fire
i cried the way women on tv do
folding at the middle
like a five pound note.
i called the boy who use to love me
tried to ‘okay’ my voice
i said hello
he said warsan, what’s wrong, what’s happened?

i’ve been praying,
and these are what my prayers look like;
dear god
i come from two countries
one is thirsty
the other is on fire
both need water.

later that night
i held an atlas in my lap
ran my fingers across the whole world
and whispered,
"where does it hurt?"
it answered,

"everywhere"
"everywhere"
"everywhere"

warsan shire



#Steemusa is a growing community of quality-content people from the United States or those living here. Check us out on Discord!

SteemUSA.jpg


Sort:  

Thank you so much for dropping the link here!

#MarketFriday loves you!

!tip .20

🎁 Hi @hafizullah! You have received 0.2 STEEM tip from @dswigle!

@dswigle wrote lately about: Furnace Town Heritage Site, Maryland With Market Friday Feel free to follow @dswigle if you like it :)

Sending tips with @tipU - how to guide.

Thank you so much for dropping your link here!

#MarketFriday loves you!

!tip .20

🎁 Hi @hafizullah! You have received 0.2 STEEM tip from @dswigle!

@dswigle wrote lately about: Tuesdays For Trees Feel free to follow @dswigle if you like it :)

Sending tips with @tipU - how to guide.

I love going to old museums and looking at the antique stuff that just a couple decades before was 'brand new' and hip, trendy for that era.

Isn't it interesting that it was only one or two generations away from where they made their own clothes? Okay, maybe three or four!

Thank you for stopping by!

#MarketFriday loves you!

!tip .20

🎁 Hi @gungho! You have received 0.2 STEEM tip from @dswigle!

@dswigle wrote lately about: Tuesdays For Trees Feel free to follow @dswigle if you like it :)

Sending tips with @tipU - how to guide.

Nice Furnace Town Heritage site photography and here is my entry : https://steemit.com/marketfriday/@kamrunnahar/4ughj7-market-friday-sea-beach-vendors
IMG_20190412_180345.jpg

Why thank you and thank you for stopping and dropping your link!

#MarketFriday loves you!

!tip .20

🎁 Hi @kamrunnahar! You have received 0.2 STEEM tip from @dswigle!

@dswigle wrote lately about: Furnace Town Heritage Site, Maryland With Market Friday Feel free to follow @dswigle if you like it :)

Sending tips with @tipU - how to guide.

now thats a market I would love to visit, I love them and now through your post I have got to virtually visit it ;)

Here is my post for this week :) https://steempeak.com/hive-119845/@tattoodjay/3ftwfr-market-friday-times-square

Hee! I love taking you along with me! This was a wonderful place to learn so much about the weaving industry. I am amazed that they let us take a sit down at their chair and guided us through the process!

Talk about work!!! I'd be fired!

Thanks for stopping by and dropping your link!

#MarketFriday loves you!

!tip .20

🎁 Hi @tattoodjay! You have received 0.2 STEEM tip from @dswigle!

@dswigle wrote lately about: Furnace Town Heritage Site, Maryland With Market Friday Feel free to follow @dswigle if you like it :)

Sending tips with @tipU - how to guide.

What an interesting old Furnace Town Museum, dear Denise!

I would very much like to see it: -)

Thank you for the interesting photos and historical information.

And this is my new post for #marketfriday

Thank you so much, Svetlana! It was very interesting to watch these weavers make something from the balls of cotton that were picked. I am still overwhelmed by all of this! I know I could not do it!

Oh, I can see that there are lovely carved products from the men of Kuban! Thank you and thank you for supporting the challenge and thank you for dropping the link!

#MarketFriday loves you

!tip .20

🎁 Hi @singa! You have received 0.2 STEEM tip from @dswigle!

@dswigle wrote lately about: Furnace Town Heritage Site, Maryland With Market Friday Feel free to follow @dswigle if you like it :)

Sending tips with @tipU - how to guide.

Did you maintain social distancing Denise? ;) jk. I've always been fascinated by those big weaver machines. And you did buy me that that orange throw, I hope? ;)

Oh, you know it!!!! LOL

This was from last summer and I was truly fascinated by all of it! Too bad you didn't get over there while you lived here! I think you would have loved it! Thank you for stopping by!

#MarketFriday loves you!

#tip

Interesting , beautiful and hard work lots of patients needed for this type of work :)

Yes!!! I agree with you! I think that if it were my job, I would be instantly fired! Hehehe! :) Thanks for stopping by and leaving your words!

#MarketFriday loves you!

!tip

It's not for all of us we do what we are good at :)

🎁 Hi @bigsambucca! You have received 0.1 STEEM tip from @dswigle!

@dswigle wrote lately about: Tuesdays For Trees Feel free to follow @dswigle if you like it :)

Sending tips with @tipU - how to guide.

Thank you kindly for your tip @dswigle :)

Yes!!! OMG! I cannot believe I did that AGAIN!!!! Well, thank you, @ace108 for being such an awesome supporter of #MarketFriday!

And for dropping the link!

#MarketFriday loves you!

!tip .20

You're welcome. Thanks for the tip.

🎁 Hi @ace108! You have received 0.2 STEEM tip from @dswigle!

@dswigle wrote lately about: Hello Earth Day! Feel free to follow @dswigle if you like it :)

Sending tips with @tipU - how to guide.

This market Friday is really special as is shows how a cloth makes at from of beginning, i really enjoying your post today, happy marketfriday.

It does and I was happy that I got to attend!

#MarketFriday loves you!

!tip

🎁 Hi @sheikh27! You have received 0.1 STEEM tip from @dswigle!

@dswigle wrote lately about: Furnace Town Heritage Site, Maryland With Market Friday Feel free to follow @dswigle if you like it :)

Sending tips with @tipU - how to guide.

Hi @dswigle, your post has been upvoted by @bdcommunity courtesy of @hafizullah!


Support us by setting us as your witness proxy and/or by delegating STEEM POWER.

20 SP50 SP100 SP200 SP300 SP500 SP1000 SP

JOIN US ON

Thank you so much for the upvote!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.30
TRX 0.12
JST 0.033
BTC 65137.70
ETH 3198.14
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.87