(Opinion) On gender neutral bathrooms.

in #genderneutral5 years ago (edited)

RE: https://www.lgbtqnation.com/2019/02/international-building-code-changing-recommend-gender-neutral-bathrooms/?fbclid=IwAR3--JfS7A0uyLViaupre29vtnQD9oufVmicrupOZHA3Eo0tM8IPSnySmJM

I'm a transwoman myself, and honestly (due to bad experiences before, during my early transitioning -- when I was still insecure to use the women's bathroom), I would feel unsafe too when I'm in a multistall public toilet and a guy walks in. A decision for a scumbag to rape, molest, or assault can happen spontaneously too, once they realize they are alone and are able to trap their victim, etc. It depends on the venue too I guess (e.g. work-place/university vs. public malls and certainly not concert venues like in a pub and etc.). I've no problem with unisex single-stalls though.

I agree with the idea that all gendered-multistall toilets should come with at least one single stall genderless toilet. I used to use that all the time if its available during my early transitioning days. However, sadly this isn't widely available in Singapore -- i.e. most "handicapped" multistall restrooms are situated within each gendered stalls rather than as a separate ungendered individual stall.

Or perhaps ensure ungendered multistore toilets adopt a more "open" designed (i.e. more like a toilet-area than a "room") -- where one can get in/out easily, and people walking by can easily see/hear what is going on within; while of course, the individual toilet-stalls within have walls/door as usual anyway.

I think the issue they are trying to tackle is of those who have only started transitioning and the non-binary individuals, who may struggle to decide which toilet they should use w/o putting themselves in an awkward situation. And making gender neutral toilets available certainly is beneficial and (IMO) quite necessary. But as I have highlighted, perhaps the best way forward is to always provide one (or even more) separate single-stall gender neutral toilet, where gendered (male/female) multi-stall toilets are being built.

But thoughts? This seems to be a hot topic right now in some countries. Please feel free to comment below. :)

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.30
TRX 0.12
JST 0.034
BTC 63815.31
ETH 3124.40
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.99