Parent and time

in #genesis6 years ago

Hello steemians, today was stress free for me, I do not know If It was the same for you.

Parent or parents and time, this may sound funny though but these two terms relate. How do they relate?

Every African parent or guardian expects that at a particular age you should have achieved one thing or the other. At a particular time you must have been through with some stuffs.

Am sure at one time or the other an African child would hear something like "your mates have gotten married and you are here fighting for food in my house", or "be deceiving yourself when your mates are doing something good for their life".

Comparisons are priorities especially in African parents. They appreciate you, commend your efforts and at the end compare you with a child that has not even started secondary school while you must have been done with BSc.

Back then when I just started University, my parents always say,"now Its time for your education do not allow any man Into your life, when you are done with your Masters' then you can have boyfriend", even though I didn't work with that, I mean I had 4 boyfriends before graduating from the University.

Meanwhile some parents were advising their kids to have fun and enjoy their days In University, and me I was just doing the good child.

Few days ago, I visited my parents. One faithful evening Mum and Dad called me and started Interviewing me on relationships, they just wanted to prove a point and that point is " your mates are already planning marriages, planning to settle down and you are just doing as If you will not get married soon".

At this point, I just wanted to make them know that partners are not being withdrawn from the bank like money, or plucked from trees like fruit.

They know this very well, but out of protection and not wanting things to happen to their wards like It was for them, they end up postponing and adjusting time.

Evey child should be given opportunity to work according to the time of his or her own destiny, not according to his friends destiny.

There is time for everything under the sun, and this time differs for every Individuals.

I just found out that In life when you compare yourself with another person, It Is either you are looking for a downfall or you want to challenge someone.

Parents want you to either be a challenge to your mates, by making you move fast In education, career and wealth because they also want to be known as a parent of the world champion.

It has been a great time here, I would leave you with this, have a great week ahead.

I remain your faithful @mhizkemmie

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.28
TRX 0.12
JST 0.033
BTC 69849.38
ETH 3709.01
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.73