Aleksa's Book Review: Trust

in #geography6 years ago (edited)


I had thought that Francis Fukuyama was a windbag academic sociologist with nothing of value to add to the world. I still maintain that, but this book taught me some useful cultural competency.

The book mostly deals with the discrepancies between cultures: Chinese, Japanese, French, German and Anglo-American cultures are dissected and compared, allowing for interesting insights.

Relevant to a recent review I made, this book describes the Confucian, clan, syndicalist, bureaucratic and communitarian approaches of these cultures (respectively) to the field of business and economics.

It's not necessarily as applicable as I'd like it to be, but with the author being who he is, the value extracted from the book was more than enough for my liking.
6/10

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.30
TRX 0.12
JST 0.034
BTC 63799.64
ETH 3130.40
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.97