Geology | Santiago Rock Formation

in #geology6 years ago

After driving for hours, a beautiful rock formation in Santiago, Ilocos Sur finally showed itself.

Being a geology undergraduate, my coursemates and I usually go out for fieldworks (and this, perhaps, is the best thing in my course). Just last semester, we went to Ilocos Sur. We were assigned to look at different rock formation or outcrops.

From reviewing literature and listening to class discussions, the area of Ilocos Sur is generally sedimentary in composition. As such, we were tasked to analyze various outcrops and study the order, position, and relation of layers to each other.

I really want to share with you the wonders of geology, but I don't want to bombard you all with geology jargon. So I'll try my best to keep things short and sweet!

From afar, the tilted layers of the Santiago rock formation are very evident. It might not be noticeable, but it is actually quite a very large outcrop reaching at most 20 feet high. It is also generally heavily weathered with little vegetation.

Upon closer look, the layers are actually made of two alternating rock types: sandstones and mudstones. I say this because rock samples of those two layers revealed two rocks with different grain sizes. The finer or smaller grained one was the mudstone while the one with coarser or larger grains was the sandstone.

To confirm that the rock types were indeed sedimentary, they bubbled or effervesced when I put diluted acid on them!

The Santiago outcrop was just one of the many more rock formations we saw in our fieldwork. I'll definitely share the others with you in my future posts (including the other places we went to)!

If you have any questions or you're curious about geology, feel free to comment! And if you liked this post, please comment, reply, or even follow!
Sort:  

Wow, that's a great outcrop. It's amazing how a body of rock can be a key to understanding the past. I hope I can visit there too. :)

Thanks a lot! I agree with you. Our environment can really be significant in our understanding and appreciation of our past, present, and future.

I hope you can visit this place as well, you won't regret it!

Really interesting. Looking forward to your next posts about geology!

I dont know much about geology, but nice picture and interesting explanation!

Thanks so much! Geology can be seen and appreciated everywhere, and that's something I want to show people!

World of Photography Beta V1.0
>Learn more here<

Thank you for participating in #smartphonephotography, the weekly selection will be released on Sunday.

You have earned 5.20 XP for sharing your photo!

Daily Stats
Daily photos: 1/2
Daily comments: 1/5
Multiplier: 1.04
Server time: 02:04:02
Account Level: 0
Total XP: 32.25/100.00
Total Photos: 2
Total comments: 22
Total contest wins: 0
When you reach level 1 you will start receiving up to two daily upvotes

Follow: @photocontests
Join the Discord channel: click!
Play and win SBD: @fairlotto
Learn how to program Steem-Python applications: @steempytutorials
Developed and sponsored by: @juliank

amazing photography.... 😍

Thank you! Until I get a decent camera, I try to make do with my smartphone. :) I'm glad you liked it!

my pleasure...😊
Can I get your facebook ID? then we will talk more and we can make better friendship 😊

Do you have a discord or steemit chat account? We can talk more there! :)

yeah.... discord id : monir120288#4636

Your post has been personally reviewed and was considered to be a well written article about geology!
ou received a 10.0% upvote since you are not yet a member of geopolis.
To read more about us and what we do, click here.
https://steemit.com/geopolis/@geopolis/geopolis-the-community-for-global-sciences-update-3
If you do not want us to upvote and comment on your posts concerning earth and earth sciences, please reply stop to this comment and we will no longer bother you with our love ❤️

Oh wow, thanks so much for this! I'll definitely look and review your post. It seems very interesting. :)

Wow...you must discover so many interesting things being a geologist!

Yes, actually! And it makes seeing the world all the more interesting for me!

Great picture and description! Love the contrast of the sky and clouds with the rock formation.

Thank you! I try to make rock formations such as those appear very aesthetic!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.28
TRX 0.13
JST 0.032
BTC 65128.28
ETH 2950.17
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.64