You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: Licking Rocks for Fun and Profit

in #geology6 years ago

I work primarily with wastewater and landfill microbial ecology, so potential grad students can be assured that there are fields where licking is definitely not encouraged.

Two things I learned and an admission:

  • I didn't know about licking to tell grain size, it makes perfect sense, though.
  • I'd never heard about mimetoliths, very cool.
  • A secret goal of mine is to visit one of those giant underground salt mines and lick the wall.
Sort:  

Hah, I have the same goal!

And yeah, geologists who do stuff like working in Superfund sites are highly disencouraged from licking rocks there.

I was always told that licking cores saturated in perchlorate builds character.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.29
TRX 0.12
JST 0.033
BTC 63852.87
ETH 3135.82
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.83