My favourite German dishes and beverages | German cuisine appreciation post.

in #german-food6 years ago (edited)

Hey Steemit.

I have written a couple of posts thus far on my favourite Italian restaurants in Brisbane and my love for Italian food in general, so I thought it was time to write about some of my favourite German dishes – given a significant portion of my ethnic heritage comes from Germany.

Despite being of German descent, I really don't eat too many German dishes on a regular basis, but I do have some favourites that I absolutely adore!

Firstly I would make mention of Germany's schnitzels. Growing up as a kid, my half-German Mum would make us chicken and beef schnitzels for dinner. Here is a chicken schnitzel and salad I once ate out at Bavarian Bier Cafe at Eagle Street Pier:

20170118_194519_cropped.jpg

Paired with a salad I think it makes for a great light and healthy meal.

That very same night my friends ordered a schnitzel with bacon, egg and chips (because they can eat the extra calories):

20170118_194524_resized.jpg

My next favourite German main would be a sausage platter made up of various types of sausages combined with good old mashed potato, sauerkraut and gravy.

20160510_201818.jpg

My favourite distinctly German flavour comes from a German dessert and that is the Black Forest Gateau. Black Forest flavour is a combination of chocolate, cream and cherry.

20160510_205846_resized.jpg

I love Black Forest so much that for my birthday last year when I was given the choice of cake that I wanted to order, I naturally had only one choice in mind:

IMG_20170312_195639_727.jpg

And finally we have to acknowledge the standard set by Germany with its wonderful beers:

20160510_194515_resized.jpg

My favourite German beer is by far Franziskaner Weissbier, which I love for the wheat flavour and the cloudiness of the beer.

IMG_20180218_221530_resized.jpg

And there you have it folks! Thanks for reading and appreciating German food with me.

Apsis.

Sort:  

You got a 19.92% upvote from @seakraken courtesy of @apsistrading! Release the Kraken!

This post has received a $25.00 % upvote from @siditech thanks to: @apsistrading.
Here's a banana! banana-small.png

Congratulations @apsistrading! You have completed the following achievement on Steemit and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

Award for the number of comments

Click on the badge to view your Board of Honor.
If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

Do you like SteemitBoard's project? Then Vote for its witness and get one more award!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.29
TRX 0.12
JST 0.032
BTC 57768.72
ETH 2943.36
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.66