MY OMA TAUGHT ME GERMAN

in #german6 years ago (edited)

Screen Shot 2018-04-30 at 2.42.08 PM.png

It's gonna get sad for a second but don't go anywhere, there's a positive message.Life is short.I'm getting to the point in mine where I'm at the age that I'm starting to lose my grandparents. I'm sure that many of you can relate. Although my paternal grandfather had left this world before I was even born, I did have 3 amazing grandparents who were a huge part of my life as I was growing up. One of those amazing grandparents was my Oma (Grandma in German). She is my maternal grandmother. 83 years old and still doing great, well as great as an 83-year-old woman can be. If you can picture the typical sweet grandmother who bakes and sews and takes care of everyone around them, well that is her.

Now that you have a little info I'll get to my point. I was talking to my Oma last week and we were reminiscing about all the good times. The picnics, the sleepovers and just spending time together. Suddenly a memory crept back into my mind of when I was about 6 years old and my oma was teaching me a German song about a little boy who left home, Hänschen Klein was the name. For a couple weeks every time I visited her, I would learn a couple new sentences and I was so proud of myself. It left such an impact on me as you can see I still remember it today. 🎵Hänschen klein Ging allein In die weite Welt hinein.Stock und Hut Steht ihm gut,Ist gar wohlgemut. 🎵After doing some research I found the lyrics and the English interpretation.

This is the version I learned. It is thought to be from about 1899, Otto Frömmel (de) (1873–1940).
Screen Shot 2018-05-01 at 11.10.41 AM.png

Nowadays it seems like the internet (youtube) teaches our children everything they know. Don't get me wrong the web is an amazing tool but in my opinion, it's the lessons that we learn from our loved ones that stick with us throughout our lives. I'm grateful for the quality time I got to spend with my grandparents and even more grateful for the lessons they have taught me.

While I cherish the memories of learning this song from my Oma I also think its super cool that any kid can find it right on youtube and learn it themselves.

Thanks for reading my story 😊Have a great day
xoxo Briana Nicole

Sort:  

Sweet story, so touching

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.27
TRX 0.11
JST 0.030
BTC 69650.24
ETH 3776.55
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.44