Big Top Pee-Wee (movie): bit of a letdown but it is understandable.

in #getyerlearnon6 years ago (edited)

I think the main reason why I and everyone else see this movie as a letdown is based almost entirely on the fact that Pee-Wee's Big Adventure was such a surprise hit.

il_fullxfull.259717409.jpg

After the release of the first one, and its success, loads of people were looking to jump on board for the second film, which unfortunately wasn't nearly as good. To be fair thought, how could it be?

This second film had lots of actual stars in it including Kris Kristofferson, who is actually a rather fantastic actor.

9623-1727.jpg

I think the reason why this film fell a bit flat has a lot to do with the fact that the first one, Pee-Wee's Big Adventure, was so massive a hit that everyone was expecting the impossible. Just like Eminem said in a rap: "I'm not gonna be able to top where my name is." therefore, the film was good... and entertaining... but unfortunately the first one was too good for this one to make any sort of real mark.

I mean obviously the film revolved around Paul Reubens, AKA Pee-Wee Herman, so therefore the other characters that are introduced are kind of a non-issue for anyone that is viewing this. The silliness was there just the same as before but i suppose since they didn't have an absurd overlying point such as Pee-Wee trying to get his bike back, it just didn't work as well.

MV5BNzc0YTQxYzctYzQzOS00OTY0LTk1NzEtMjhiOTBmYzA5OThhL2ltYWdlXkEyXkFqcGdeQXVyNjAwODA4Mw@@._V1_.jpg

Overall i would say that this movie is worth seeing if you absolutely loved the "big adventure" story but please, do let me know what you think if you watch them back-to-back because I feel as though despite the fact that this film had a much bigger budget that it didn't have anywhere near as much appeal in the end.

It's alright, but it isn't great. I think there is only room in this world for 1 epic Pee-Wee movie.

5.5 / 10

Sort:  

"they didn't have an absurd overlying point such as Pee-Wee trying to get his bike back, it just didn't work as well"

For me, you nailed it with this sentence.

The quest for the bike was essential because it established Peewee as an icon for boys who like adventure, the kind of kids who like Goonies but younger, with more wacky comedy.

And the first movie had Tim Burton to propel that adventure from scene to scene with driving action and color.

This movie is a failure from the start, because the pre-pubescent boys, who are the core audience for this, simply don't give a damn about the Peewee loves a girl plot. The core audience response is basically "ick."

For adults, it's even dumber, since we know full well it isn't GIRLS Peewee is in to!

And the plot is even more unfocused than the romance I just painted it as, as Peewee doesn't even meet the girl in question until late in the show, spending his time farming (another turn-off for kids), instead of a being a mechanical toy nut, and he can't even make up his mind whether he even likes the circus when it shows up in his yard mid-plot, giving a sense of meandering unfocused ambivalence to the whole plot.

There is no sense of drama in the movie, as the generic angry townsfolk villains pale compared to the diabolical Francis from the first movie, and all obstacles in this movie are too easily removed and resolved.

An ill-thought out, badly branded, unfocused, undramatic, waste of the iconic Peewee character from the first movie. :(

Yeah, Pee Wee, trying to get the bike, loved it, and love the Goonies, and while we are at it, Pee Wee Big Adventure reminds me of Revenge of the Nerds. I love Pee Wee no matter what, but especially Big Adventure.

I've tried watching this movie three times, and can never get all the way through it. Big Top Pee Wee is as bad as Pee Wee's Big Adventure was good. Other than some imaginative effects, Pee Wee looks like he fell out of the sky and landed in this movie. I think Bill Murray would have been better cast in a movie with this plotline, especially in the scenes where Pee Wee is acting like a dog in heat. Murray would make a convicing "hayseed" and slob on a farm. Reubens seems to strain in his attempt to make something of the unfunny material he's given...the characters around him are generally unfunny as well. How anyone came up with this farm, then circus plotline is beyond me. The film is generally devoid of laughs. An overall waste of the Pee Wee Herman character and one of the worst "comedies" I've ever seen.

I agree with everything you just wrote.

Hiiii....gooddream

Great Post with Great Information.

Paul Ruebens is pretty awesome though, I am not sure if I have seen this one or not, the word "epic" is overused but Big Adventure is pretty epic. I'll have to give it a watch.

Hii dear @gooddream i like your movie trailor so done resteem, i request you please visit my blog and upvote my last post. Thanks you😍😍

Man, people don't remember how big Pee Wee was in his prime. For some reason, he reminds me of Ernest. They were both big around the same time period.

I gotta get back there and watch me some Ernest. I want to say that he died recently. right, Vern?

very good movie trailer.i can follow u and also upvote u .@aryaan

Personally, I loved it. But that might be because I was eight.

Collosal we come, these renegades in the ring! (woah-oh-oh-oh!)
Where the lost get found in the crown of the circus king! (woah-oh-oh-oh!)
It's fire! It's freedom! It's coming open!
It's a preacher in the pulpit and you'll find devotion!
So tell me, do you wanna go where it's covered in the colored lights!?
Where the runaways are running the night!?
Impossible comes true, it's coming over you, THIS IS THE GREATEST SHOW!

I'm not totally sure if I agree as I look at Pee Wee as a funny weird brother and I am happy to see him like I was happy to see Michael Jordan play for the Wizards. People said Mike ruined his legacy kind of like how sequels are said to be not as good as the originals. In many cases, it is true maybe to some extent. I kind of agree with you but I am also a big fan of all of the Jack Sparrow films and Austin Powers and Pee Wee Herman is another character I am happy to follow because I am very attached to him, maybe in an unhealthy way haha.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.27
TRX 0.13
JST 0.032
BTC 62699.43
ETH 2963.61
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.61