Castlevania: Lords of Shadow 2

in #getyerlearnon6 years ago (edited)

This part of the Castlevania franchise does something that kind of surprised me. The setting is both in the modern and medieval worlds. This is not a side scroller but instead a 3rd person 3-D type game that incorporates the usual whip as your main weapon. There are of course many upgrades as the game progresses

maxresdefault.jpg

We find ourselves controlling Gabriel Belmont once again but he is now known as Dracula.

The game starts out in a fashion that immediately reminded me of one of the God of War games, in that you have all the powers and easily dice up your enemies in the tutorial. There is also a rather giant robot type thing outside of your besieged castle that you must complete several different stages of in order to defeat it.

SiegeTitanPrologue.png

I felt as though this was a nice way to get you introduced to the various skills and even though I was heavily distracted, I found it impossible to lose. The attack system of your enemies takes some getting used to for someone who did NOT play Lords of Shadow 1 so I feel this is essential. This was actually the first time I had played a 3-D Castlevania game so I needed that.

They spent some dough on the voice acting as both Robert Carlyle and Patrick Stewart appear frequently in the dialogue. However, this contributes to what I believe to be one of the main problems with this game and why I honestly don't think, after just 5 hours or so of playing, that I am going to play it much more.

There are entirely too many cutscenes

I think in the first hour I was playing, I had to sit through at least 40 minutes of cutscenes, including ones that recur after you die in a particular scene - this is completely unacceptable. The scenes are beautiful but for the love of God can I play the damn game?!

At one point in the first 2 hours you get to the end of a medieval portion of the game and then you watch something that is so stinkin long that when the words "many centuries later" pops up on the screen you kind of feel that this is about the amount of time you have been waiting to actually be controlling the character again.

If I wanted to watch a movie, I would do that. There are plenty of options as far as that is concerned. I think that they failed big time when they decided to incorporate so much non-playable content in the game. Also, some of the load times are terribly long. So long in-fact that they play yet another cutscene while you wait.

I think that if someone was a far bigger fan of the franchise lore than I am, perhaps they would enjoy this title. Since I am not a superfan for the most part, i found it to be irritating every time that control was taken away from me - and it happens A LOT.

It seems appropriate to me that the main trailer provided for this game features absolutely ZERO gameplay footage, but instead, is just a collection of cutscenes.

4.5 / 10

Sort:  

Hiii.. Gooddream

You Always Give Great Reviews About New Or Old Games.

Thanks for the great posts like this.

Unfortunately, Lords of Shadow 2 is less successful when it comes to its setting. While a modern-day Castlevania isn’t necessarily unheard of, it lacks the gothic atmosphere that makes previous games in the series feel distinct and memorable. Walking around a 21st-century city, replete with cars and computers – while talking to a man in a beautiful suit smoking a cigarette – feels awkward and out of place for this character. Thankfully, Dracula can travel back and forth between the past and present, but even the various areas he explores in the past don’t feel or look all that interesting, either. Without an engaging series of locations, you’re left only with characters and story to string you along, at least in those many sequences when you’re not playing.

I also didn't really like how it is "open world" with many of the areas you encounter being out of reach because you don't yet have the appropriate powerup. I can't imagine anyone returning to those tedious areas just to see what is up that wall they can't yet climb. I suppose there would be some people.

From you analysis of this game Lords of Shadow 2, by implementing so much non non-playable content in the game makes the game a bit boring and the level of inactivity in the game makes the game to loss the essence of a thrilling game @gooddream

Lord of shadows 2 is not really as great as the 1, is entertainment is kinda intermittent, you dont enjoy continously, sometimes you encounter puzzles that are soo boring you don't wanna continue again, other times too you wanna you engage in a boss battle that keeps you engrossed in the game so much so that you don't wanna end the game, however overall i think a great not soo great game, kinda like the pros and cons cancel out, perhaps a ratijg of 5/10 is perfect

Lord of shadows is not really bad, as a matter of fact is a great game with a rating of 7.5, however to be able to enjoy you need to have lots of patience to tolerate all those long scenes where as a player you get to do nothing but watch the story unfold, i must admit, it is very annoying, sometimes i leave the scene to go do something else and would come back to find out that the unfolding is still happening

What a lovely game @gooddream. I will also like to try my hand on it. Thanks for sharing

I had about your ongoing context. I'm to join in

This is my recent post

https://steemit.com/motivation/@ohakfarm/what-did-you-do-to-better-your-relationship

Upvoted... :)

Folow me i will Follow back
Let's Grow Together

Lords of shadow very interesting and great game, thank you, plz comment my post

Posted using Partiko Android

gooddream, Please always write Configuration of Game means on which processor or RAM is required for any game
Agreed with suggestion?

I am unlikely to do this for every game but since this one is reasonably demanding graphically. here you go.

OS: Windows XP Service Pack 3. Processor: 2.4Ghz Intel Core 2 Duo or AMD equivalent. Memory: 2 GB RAM. Graphics: Direct X9 compatible video card 512Mb RAM.

gooddream, Thanks for reply dear , Configuration is very important for any game thats why i m asking

To listen to the audio version of this article click on the play image.

Brought to you by @tts. If you find it useful please consider upvoting this reply.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.30
TRX 0.12
JST 0.033
BTC 63672.27
ETH 3126.79
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.87