Celebrities are still getting involved in politics

in #getyerlearnon6 years ago

The latest thing that I heard was that "Taylor Swift breaks her silence to support Democrat candidates in Tennessee." Well i am sure the people of TN are super-delighted to get her opinion on things but I have to ask why do celebrities do this still?

singer-songwriter-taylor-swift-attends-the-2018-billboard-music-awards-2018-at-the-mgm-grand-resort-international-on-may-20-2018-in-las-vegas-nevada.jpg

Let's look at this a couple of ways ok? Does any person with a brain really feel as though anyone's mind is not already made up about their overall political desires and if not, is the opinion of a woman who makes songs aimed at teenagers going to be the driving force that changes that opinion?

I don't know much about Taylor Swift, I can think of only the "Shake it off" song and to be honest that might not even be by her. I am not a fan, I am not an enemy. I am indifferent to anything that this woman does.

However, I am reminded of something that Dave Chappelle said about when the 9-11 tragedy happened and MTV (as well as everyone else) was doing news coverage of it. MTV thought it would be a great idea to get Jah-Rule's opinion about what the world should do now. Dave Chappelle said "I don't give a F**K what Jah Rule thinks about global conflict!" and this is pretty much the way I feel about Taylor Swift throwing her hat into the political arena.

Again, I know almost nothing about her music and I honestly don't care what her political opinions are but I can't really understand why any celebrity would think they are going to be changing anybodies mind. This can only end badly for Taylor and I think there is a good chance that her having a public opinion about this might be an accident. I don't doubt that she feels the way that she does, but there is no way that her publicist or agent thought that this would be a good idea.

b209b610-d490-466e-adb8-58f2be7dab6b-Taylor-Swift-20180825-26.jpg

She will still be famous after this but honestly, no one is going to change their mind because of her opinion and if someone out there would allow their voting decisions to be influenced by Taylor then well, they have a very poor basis for why they are voting in the first place.

Considering how insane politics have become lately, i think Taylor should be very concerned about the whatever percent of people that are going to have a violent reaction to her words and refuse to have anything to do with her. She might get a few fans from the side that she is supporting but at the expense of a potential 50% of the other side. I don't know who told her this was a good idea but I think there are many more ways it could go badly than it could go well.

I don't know about you guys but when I see a celebrity endorse such and such candidate or political ideology I roll my eyes because jaysus... .just because you are a good singer doesn't mean you are an intellectual leader. I have no reason to listen to you and I have less respect for you because you opened your silly delusional mouth.

How do you feel? Do you think that anyone should care what a celebrity thinks about politics? I know that I don't.

Sort:  

Celebrities can have their own political beliefs, but when they use their fame to push their beliefs it becomes irritating and condescending.

Being famous doesn't make you any more politically aware or knowledgable than anyone else. In fact, you're likely less politically aware since you live in a bubble of the rich, famous and with very little political diversity. You're surrounded by people who either share the same beliefs or don't dare challenge them out of fear or ticking off the wrong person. Ideas have to be challenged, otherwise it just becomes an echo chamber.

Laws, policies and events that effect the general public might not effect celebrities at all. Recently Bill Maher said he wants the economy to crash to reflect poorly on Trump. While it wouldn't hurt someone worth tens of millions of dollars very much, everyone else would suffer through layoffs, bankruptcies, foreclosures, reduced working hours, etc.

yeah, i remember that Maher comment. He got a lot of grief for that and rightfully so.

Voter registration surged right after she did that. If she can use her platform for something good rather than product placement I'm all for it.

well, if Taylor Swift is what it takes to get people motivated to vote, i guess i don't understand those people. However, I agree with your overall sentiment.

I don't think there is any law preventing celebrities from supporting or joining politics

Posted using Partiko Android

and i hope there never is such a law.

Lol, people forget that Ronald Reagan, Jessy "The Body" Ventura, Arnold Schwarzenegger & many others where all in the entertainment industry before joining politics.

Posted using Partiko Android

To listen to the audio version of this article click on the play image.

Brought to you by @tts. If you find it useful please consider upvoting this reply.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.30
TRX 0.12
JST 0.034
BTC 64038.60
ETH 3148.89
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.97