Cop Car (film)

in #getyerlearnon6 years ago

Like most of the films I end up watching, I knew nothing about this movie at all. This is mostly because I live in Thailand and we are not subjected to advertising for international movies for the most part. Also, as I have mentioned before, very few movies from the west ever come to our theaters at all and if they do they are normally something along the lines of Transpormers or Thor.

Cop Car did not come to Thai theaters and I was unaware of its existence until a few years ago.

maxresdefault.jpg

The story begins with 2 youngish boys wandering through a field, throwing sticks, playing silly games, swearing. Just what bored kids do. The come upon a police car in a wooded area and after a series of dares they end up getting inside it. Just as is always true in movies but never in real life, the keys to the car are above the sun visor. The 2 boys drive away in the cop car.

The next scene is actually a bit confusing and takes a while for the viewer to realize that this scene actually took place before the kids encountered the car. This is where we meet Sherrif Kretzer who is played by Kevin Bacon. I don't want to reveal too much of the story but the Sheriff is in the process of doing something less-than-legal, he does something in the woods and when he returns to where he parked the car it is no longer there because the two boys we saw in the scene before have driven off in it.

copcar.jpg

I might be alone in this opinion, but I think Kevin Bacon is one of the more underappreciated actors of our time. I believe he is extremely good for the life of me I can't think of any films he was in that were considered amazing. He does a magnificent job in Cop Car though as the role of a corrupt police official seems to suit him perfectly.

The film received mostly favorable reviews from the press and the public opinion seems to fall right in line with my own. The only thing that the film is missing in my mind is any sort of twist. The actions in the movie are for the most part predictable and I suppose that makes it a bit boring. However, this movie stays interesting enough and therefore I believe it is definitely worth watching.

7 / 10

Sort:  

"I think Kevin Bacon is one of the more underappreciated actors of our time. I believe he is extremely good for the life of me I can't think of any films he was in that were considered amazing."

Most amazing Kevin Bacon movies aren't Kevin Bacon movies. They are guest starring roles, like "Apollo 13," "A Few Good Men," and being juvenile, my personal favorite, "Animal House" ("Thank you, Sir, may I have another!").

Of his starring roles, "Stir of Echoes" is good, but once again, being juvenile, "Tremors" is my favorite, being a balls-to-the-wall action-horror genre flick with tons of comedy thrown in for fun.

Thing is, Bacon is the most famous, most talented, cheap and underrated actor in Hollywood, and "Cop Car" is a perfect example of how he can pick a script by a low budget filmmaker, see the talent in that filmmaker, and work with that guy to make an awesome movie on a super-low budget.

And guess who saw this movie, and agreed with Kevin Bacon, that Jon Watts is a great filmmaker: none other than Marvel Supremo, Kevin Feige, who hired Watts, on the strength of THIS film, to write and direct "Spider-Man: Homecoming!" Yes, the biggest Marvel character ever was trusted to the man who made "Cop Car."

And you can see why. Right away, Watts' ability to get inside irresponsible kids' heads, and show how much crazy fun they might have if they found an abandoned cop car to play with, well, that's not so far from a super young juvenile Peter Parker having crazy fun with his own newly discovered superpowers, is it?

Watts' skill getting in kids' heads, his ability to place those kids in a scary adult world, and the resulting comic thrill of it all, well, that's what Watts did for Marvel with Spiderman, and now, it's upcoming sequel.

I love this movie. So little money, realistic innocent kid characters, a realistic horrible adult world, and a wonderful collision between those two worlds.

I missed this movie in the cinema, and only caught up with it after I heard Watts was hired for Spiderman. But like Kevin Feige, and Kevin Bacon before him, it seems you saw Watts' talents without hearing about the whole Spiderman thing. Good eye.

To Watts, and Bacon, and Feige, and yourself, I say, "Thank you, Sir, may I have another!" Lol.

wow dude, that was an absolutely incredible follow up to my lukewarm review. Kudos to you and thanks for reading / replying ! :)

You kidding. I have had nothing but pleasure reading your blog on my 30 days on Steemit.

Sometimes it's stuff I know absolutely nothing about, like videogames. Sometimes it's stuff I obsess about, like movies. And sometimes it's about real life adventures, that allow me to dive out of my own mind, out my own small sphere of existence, and really learn something.

There are about 5 blogs that I have really loved since I started exploring this space, and yours is one of them! Keep it up. :)

awww, thanks man!

I haven't seen this one, maybe I'm too busy watching thor movies hahahaha. Yeah, Kevin bacon is kind of an underappreciated actor, but sometimes all depend on the actor's own expectations. I recently heard about an actor saying that as supporting actor he always have work, even more than some A listers

Lovely story Nd what a movie at what great time. Tomorrow we are going to a theatre and we'll watch it coz it has impressed me alot. Kevin Bacon's role as a corrupt ploice officer is awesome and yeah he is very underrated. Surely deserves praise for all his acts. Thanks for sharing.

i think you will experience some difficulty seeing this movie in a theater since it was released several years ago :P

Hiii... Gooddream

I Also like this type of movies.
You can't leave this type of films after interval.
You only think and watch that... What happens next

I guess I would have to describe Cop Car as a high concept movie, i.e. a film whose story can succinctly be described in one sentence. This is essentially about a couple of kids who steal a cop car belonging to a sheriff who it soon transpires is a very bad man. Do not let the simplicity of the set-up put you off though, as this is a lean film with a lot of good things about it. Firstly, we have the two young boys who are a great central pairing; they really act like genuine kids and are very sympathetic and humorous throughout. Secondly, we have Kevin Bacon giving yet another good performance as the bad cop. Thirdly, this is well-paced and builds quite a bit of tension as events escalate to an ending that is a little surprising. Fourthly, it's a rather well photographed and scored affair, with the sparse Colorado plains scenery shot nicely in widescreen. This is a very good example of a film that keeps things simple while never forgetting to entertain and surprise. It's well acted, photographed and directed. It has well-handled suspense and characters you actually care about. Can't say fairer than that really.

It quite unfortunate you didnt get to watch this earlier, either way you got it now and that's the most important thing. I loved Cop Car, it is movie by John Watts which shook hollywood upon its release. Kevin Bacon was serving as a terminator and a savior, ironical right? You wil understand it when you watch, he acting skill is commendable, unfortunately for him he is not getting the recognision he deserves. A movie made out from kids stealing a cop car leading to twists at every turn, thriller. I'd give it an 8/10.

John Watts Cop Car movie is very suspensful and exciting and with one of my favorite characters Kevin Bacon playing both protagonist and antagonist, just makes the movie awesome. At first one may be a little skeptical but when the twist start coming in, you become glued to your screen. Cop Car gave John a new a name in hollywood which should that is it a great movie. For those of you yet to watch it, id say it will be worth your time

Trailer is awesome and I think it will do something on bigscreen

A very wonderful movie I will follow you with sure. Thank you for choosing movies you are a special person here really

To listen to the audio version of this article click on the play image.

Brought to you by @tts. If you find it useful please consider upvoting this reply.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.25
TRX 0.11
JST 0.032
BTC 62062.59
ETH 3002.04
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.77