Kung Fu: the shittiest game that ever encompassed a great deal of my time.

in #getyerlearnon6 years ago (edited)

This was from NES and i was honestly too young to even know why we got it. Surely we didn't offer the NES salesperson an additional $10 for this thing. We might have. I don't know.. The NES was a pretty amazing thing at the time and if you are younger than 30 years old there is no way you can relate.

Kung fu is an absolutely absurd game that myself and my brother (along with countless others) mastered simply because there was nothing else to play.

index.jpg
dont judge the game on the box, it was 1986

The game was actually the most exciting thing outside of Super Mario Brothers and to be honest the only reason why you would ever play "Kung Fu" instead of Super Mario Brothers would be because the Mario cartridge failed or you got so upset with it that you threw the Mario game across the room out of anger (along with Ghosts and Goblins.. seriously F*%k those guys.)

Anyway, here is the action from Kung Fu, and trust me when i say that this was incredible back in 1986. However that is only because we didn't know any better!

We didn't have any sort of PVP battle patterns to memorize and the only thing we could do was memorize the attacks of the only AI that existed at the time and well if it is just "left to right", i suppose that is about as easy as it going to get for programmers.

It seems incredibly stupid now but I actually met a guy who worked on video games in the 80's and well - he basically told me they didn't know what TF they were doing either, but they had deadlines. He was around 70 years old when I met him and he had NO regrets.

think that is how Kung-Fu.... the 2nd NES game I ever had, came to be.


if you watch all of this,, you are awesome

Sort:  

The graphics are great! haha

If only it was as easy as "left to right" for programers when creating games today. But thanks to games like these, it paved the way for the best fighting game ever made! Super Smash Bros! Not only for 64 but for any system, the Super Smash Bros games were epic and still are epic! haha

So thank you Kung Fu and that 70 year old programer for laying the foundation for SSB! hahaha

nice response. The funny thing about the lowest powered guys that walked towards you is that if they got you, they just kind of leaned on you, no punches, no kicks, just hugs or something. They didn't take much life off. If there was more than one of them they would all lean and it would take slightly more of your life away.

Every fight I have ever seen happens that exact same way! Man, those programers were good! haha

This brings back memories. I need to find an emulator and start playing bubble bobble again. Or maybe the Nintendo Switch has some. I will look tonight :).

I remember putting this thing on turbo mode and kicking the shit out of some enemies.
NES.jpg
There's no way I could've beat Captain Skyhawk without it either.
Captain_Skyhawk_Coverart-1.jpg

In the 80s, any game was exciting and I never played kung fu. Because I was born in 1982 and when I first met videogames, when atari was fashionable with the pac-man game and other games, I do not remember the name. Undoubtedly, these games are certainly classic and are those that encouraged their creators to improve every year until they reach the games we see today.

I know martial-art is in the last four years ....and I now get the black belt

Due to the pressure of study, it is not practiced now

I like your posts very beautiful post @gooddream

I have many memories with Kung fu , i always played in my childhood😊 .

Playing games will take up a lot of our time, but somehow very very much gamers spend time playing the game ..
Nice post @gooddream

wow very good game, i really like to play game, everyday i always fill my time for a while to play game, i really like game which has many challenge. I am now playing Survival game, the game is very cool, and many challenges. Do you like Survival games? thank you...

haha.. the good old Nintendo games. I remember I used to hit the game centers just to play at a fee. Kung Fu still seems like a nice game to me. It's more or less like these endless running we have on our mobile device- we keep repeating the same actions- jumping and shifting from left to right,and vice versa. But, my favorite game tho was Contra.

Greetings from Venezuela. I invite you to take a look at my first OpenMic post and support me: D and thanks in advance

STEEMIT OPEN MIC SEMANA 85 - Time in a Bottle by @maycorjerjes18

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.29
TRX 0.12
JST 0.033
BTC 62934.09
ETH 3118.65
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.85