Lord of War: Nicolas Cage actually isn't ridiculous in it

in #getyerlearnon6 years ago (edited)

I have to say that this is one of my favorite U.S.-made films of all time. I can't believe that Nick Cage is in it either because my goodness is he terrible in so many other films.

ZABrXyn.png

The story follows the life of Yuri Orlov, a Ukrainian immigrant to America, and his rise to power inside international arms trading and the many internal struggles that he faces including the fact that he is completely aware that his weapons are being used to kill innocent civilians in war-torn Africa.

Now here is something I didn't know until years later and it is important to understand: The conflicts in Africa that he is supplying the weapons to were real conflicts and very real tragedies, but as it turns out Yuri is a completely made up person based on the lives of several different people. There is much speculation about how his character was primarily based on Victor Bout and as fate would have it Victor was actually captured 25 later in Thailand of all places.

Back to the film:

The opening sequence of the film is brilliantly shot (no pun intended) and then the rest of the story is told fluidly and in an entertaining and easy-to-understand manor. Nick Cage narrates over the parts that the actual action can not adequately explain and while many people say this is a lazy way to make films, it is incredibly necessary in my opinion.

Jared Leto (who i think is a much better actor than Nick) plays Yuri's troubled, but far more ethical brother, Vitaly. Their relationship in the film does a lot for the overall story and I think selecting Leto for the role was a very wise decision on the part of the producers. Likely a better decision that selecting Nick Cage. I mean have you seen the "bees!" scene in the completely unneeded remake of "The Wicker Man?"

tenor.png
I laugh every time i see this pic

This film came out in 2005 and I believe the story it portrays is still relevant now and likely always will be until the world decides to stop killing people. I think we all know that this, sadly, is unlikely.

Sort:  

Nick Cage is my favorite person . I was attracted to many of his films really


Aside this movie I see Nick Cage as a really good actor. I have seen a whole lot of his movies but can't tell how I missed this one. The world has been using weapons sold to them for the wrong use.. Thanks for the movie review

What a great link up in the movie, see how it connect Africa and Thailand... Lol

I've not seen the movie, but I'm sure it would worth my time... Smile

I'm trying to remember the other movies I've seen Nick Cage, the titles are not just coming yet.. He has this gentle look. Hahahah

Cage showed what he had that he could find a character that actually fit him and the supporting cast with Jared Leto was also incredible.

I have never really seen a movie so funny and so dramatic as this. One funny part is the zeal it gives that makes one want Cage to succeed at his illegal acts.

Thank you @gooddream for sharing.

I remember after I spent over two hours watching Lord of War it caused me to appreciate all of the wonderful things that have been granted to us by the Lord of Life. These positive thoughts were not directly inspired by what I saw in the film, however came as a reaction in order to counter the sadism and evil presented throughout the story.Some of the violence were extensive and at times gory, however it accurately depicted the lifestyle. I strongly believe that if Yuri’s life had not been portrayed as a violent, neglectful, deceitful person, his death would become disputable, and the reality of the picture would have been lost

Aww this actor is really a real hero, i like him so much, and his movies are good stories and action full movies, well Nick Cage a real man and a real hero, and thanks for remind us thats for his new movie,

I’m not a huge Nicolas Cage fan. That being said… I did like national treasure just because I didn’t have to really think. And for some reason I like those weird wacky comedy/adventure films. I never knew this one existed. I’ll give it a look. Wait a minute… I also like calling in 60 seconds. But hey, who doesn’t like watching that movie just to look at the cars.?? LOL.

hello friends happy day greetings from venezuela the most wonderful country, wuao good the magen of mister de las gerra, I really like your post count with my vote

This genre of film only perpetuates conflict mentality in a world fast disintegrating.How about the peace keepers start winning hearts and minds again?A revival of UNESCO would not hurt either....James 3:17

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.31
TRX 0.12
JST 0.033
BTC 64605.91
ETH 3159.61
USDT 1.00
SBD 4.11