Office Space: A flim that pretty much sums of how I feel about working

in #getyerlearnon6 years ago

Despite the fact that I think this film speaks to everyone that has ever had to suffer through the rigors of working for a corporation it didn't do so well at the box office and that is surprising to me because it is a really funny film.

220px-Office_space_album_cover.png

The film did manage to achieve cult status and if you speak to a group of people and say something about "TPS reports" there is a good chance someone in the group is going to know what you are talking about.

The interactions between the main character, Peter and his boss Bill Lumburgh, so accurately personifies the relationship that I have had with whoever my boss happened to be in any office I had the displeasure of working in. I am certain that many others have felt the same way.

Ron_Livingston_With_Gary_Cole_in_Office_Space.jpg
oh cubicles, how i hate you

Office work and the mountains of seemingly pointless paperwork that comes along with it is truly soul crushing and unfortunately is the mainstay of a vast majority of the middle class. There is always the one person in the office that apparently loves their boring-ass job too.

Perhaps the best character in the entire film is Milton: A bumbling coworker who doesn't really seem to do anything and has an extreme attachment to his particular brand of stapler. He goes through the motions in order to collect a paycheck. Milton was actually fired a long time ago but because of a glitch in the computer system he continues to receive a paycheck and nobody has actually noticed.

office-space-milton.png
I was told I could listen to the radio at a reasonable volume from 8 to 11 am

So basically Peter hates his job and accidentally gets hypnotized or something and wakes up not giving a damn about whether or not he gets fired. This has the opposite effect anyone would imagine and he ends up quickly moving up in the ranks, much to the surprise of his buddies who also hate their jobs. I don't want to spoil too much of the film but if you have a spare hour and a half or so, i guarantee you will laugh - especially if you too have a soul-crushing job like this.

f0a8c978d30da27749242241436e823520050d03cb9e35343d27ad30f7353057.jpg
*Oh and Dr. Cox from "Scrubs" is in it too. *

Hope you enjoy it!

Sort:  

Michael Bolton: Yeah, well at least your name isn't Michael Bolton.
Samir: You know, there's nothing wrong with that name.
Michael Bolton: There was nothing wrong with it. Until I was about 12 years old and that no-talent ass clown became famous and started winning grammys.
Samir: Well, if it bothers you that much, why don't you just go by Mike; instead of Michael?
Michael Bolton: No way. Why should I change? He's the one who sucks.

you made me LOL in real life. Glad someone else appreciates this sort of humor. goo stuff :)

Sounds like you have a case of The Monday's

oh the receptionist lady... haha "one moment" "one moment"

I always thought I was only one who apparently hates my job but when I spared time and met with the old girls and discusssed Work I realised I was not alone in the circle like literally work sucks and more so a marketing Job where you have to talk to differnt categories of people and put up with their moods. I have to download it because it seems it will make smile

oh good. I am sure you will like it. Enjoy!

Do you watch movies every day? I watch the movie every day at one time......Some days, I saw 2 to 3 movies.....The leisure time is very good to watch the movie.....You have not seen this movie's office space movie of this post yet......But seeing your post, I want to watch this movie very much and I will watch this movie today......
Seeing your post I saw the trailer of this movie and got some information that was highlighted here:
I think those who see this movie will be good to 89% of them.
Early release of this movie: February 19, 1999 (United States).
Director of this movie: Mike Jazz.
Acting in this movie: Jennifer Aniston, Mike Jazz, Ron Livingstone, Gary Kole, Stephen Rut..............
So really nice entertainment post..............

This is new! Office space.. I have to check it out. A retro-movie about work sandwiched with comedy.. this seems to be a promising hilarious one. Thanks for the recommendation.

Milton was actually fired a long time ago but because of a glitch in the computer system he continues to receive a paycheck and nobody has actually noticed.

Who need the job when you can still get paid without doing one... Smile

This has made my day already... Lol

This film must be indeed funny.... Hahahahhahah

hehe, this is very cool, very funny movie, i like the movie trailer you share, because this movie is enough to entertain everyone, when they again stress thinking about the problem of his work. Thank you, and I hope you have a wonderful day... :)

Great post there. Apart from the lessons learnt, i have also come to understand three effective ways of accomplishing more in life.

#1 Play the Game

We have a tendency to take ourselves too seriously. This often results in becoming too stiff and unyielding when it comes to changing our plans and adapting to new situations. Being flexible and able to see how our circumstances can serve us is critical to our success.

#2 Purge the Distractions

First, it’s important to know the distinction between what’s truly good for you and what you use as a distraction. This can be tricky. For example, spending two hours on Facebook isn’t very productive, unless it’s part of your job. When we’re trying to distract ourselves, it’s usually because we’re supposed to do something challenging.

#3 Write Down Ideas to Make Them Count

Our minds are constantly in a bind, always working, chattering and in that noise, good ideas are born, but they can be easily lost. Nurturing the habit of writing down your ideas and thoughts is by far one of the best things you can do. It allows you to remember your creative outbursts, even when you can’t make use of them right away.

This is a great film. Also, always make sure you have enough pieces of flair if you aren't fortunate enough to have that boring day-to-day office job. Excellent film choice to recommend.

This sounds interesting, you see boring jobs sometimes brings about frustrations and irrational decisions. This movie sounds like it’s quite worth my time . I think I should download this movie, well I’d actually see this when I’m having a boring day. Smiles , awesome description of the movie by the way

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.30
TRX 0.12
JST 0.033
BTC 64386.10
ETH 3142.17
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.98