Shaun of the Dead (film): wonderful zombie fun

in #getyerlearnon6 years ago

Remember how I said a few days ago that they seriously needs to stop making zombie films / TV shows and get some fresh ideas but probably wont because the concept continues to make tons of money? Well this sentiment existed many years ago in 2004 when this gem of a movie was released.

51RT474Y8GL._SY445_.jpg

The films stars Simon Pegg and Nick Frost, who play the lead roles of Shaun and Ed, respectively. They are a couple of guys with no real direction in their lives and pass the time of their boring and routine existence by playing a lot of video games and getting drunk at the local pub on a regular basis (this sounds like a lot of people i know, including myself.)

1470543814786.jpg

This circular lifestyle seems to affect Shaun more than Ed, who is quite comfortable being a loser but Shaun wants a change. After a particularly heavy night out, Shaun wakes up to a message on the fridge that drunk Shaun wrote that says "sort your f**king life out." Unbeknownst to him he is going to be forced to do precisely that. The two roomates were so hammered the night before they failed to notice that a zombie apocalypse has broken out in London, and carry on with their lives in a normal fashion - presuming that all the slow moving people in the streets are just really drunk.

What ensues is a hilarious piss-take of sorts regarding the absurd nature of zombie films in general and I don't want to ruin it, but i guarantee you will laugh, especially if you feel as I do about how this genre has been played into the ground.

There are a bunch of famous cameos in the movie, including an actor that I think is one of the best in the world, Bill Nighy, who plays Phillip, Shaun's stepfather.

Phillip.png

This isn't an entirely satirical film, it has aspects of genuine horror in it and there is a pretty heartbreaking scene that takes place later in the film that really shows that Simon Pegg is capable of serious dramatic acting as well.

This film is part of a trilogy of films entitled "Three flavours Cornetto Trilogy" which is a title that I was surprised didn't get them in trouble with the ice cream manufacturer - i suppose it was free advertising.

8 / 10

i'm gonna need to review something bad soon, been giving out too many high marks lately

Sort:  

"their boring and routine existence"

It's the commentary on their existence that makes this a cut above, I agree. In a way, it's funny you reviewed "Nebraska" on the same day as this, as that film is an art movie response to a mind-numbingly dull, alcohol-swilling, daily despairing existence, whereas this is a quadruple-whammy genre response to the exact same thing:

(1) whacking the theme of routine and despair on the head with horror: by likening the zombies to the oblivion-seeking living, then going to war with them;

(2) comedy: generating endless laughs by the obliviousness of the boys, as they stumble through lives downing drinks, Nebraska style, unable to distinguish zombie hell from their daily hell;

(3) romance: as Simon Pegg's character uses his newly acquired zombie skills to fight for the girl he lost through his despairing uselessness;

(4) buddy picture: that Simon Pegg and Nick Frost live, and have a language all of their own, that transcends and transforms the horror of their lives, both pre- and post-zombie apocalypse into something better ,is special. The plot works in a lovely twist on the friends-not friends-friends again plot structure from most buddy pictures.

All in all, a combo-genre classic married to a wealth and depth of meaning.

Thanks for reviewing a Brit pic. Love it. :)

The fact that genre makes the underlying art theme gripping shouldn't surprise, but it is the sheer surfeit of genres that makes this an exceptional film.

That and the fact that Simon Pegg and

oh no... were you attacked by zombies at the end?

WTF, I swear I finished it. I blame my hand!

cuts off hand with chainsaw

"Who's laughing now? Who's LAUGHING NOW!?"

replaces hand with chainsaw

"GROOVY!" :)

You forget to mentioning Edgar Wright, the director who make this movie a real classic. For me, he is one of the most interesting contemporary directors. Since I watched "Shaun of the Dead" I follow everything he creates. Wonderful humor, as we see rarely this days.

Thank you for that you write about this movie. :)

A thing I quite like about this film, beside all the...everything, obviously, is that this is one of the only films where they show WHY the main character is so self sacrificing for his friends.

Now don't get me wrong, obviously I don't NEED an explanation for that. But Shaun's life is in such a dead end, it makes sense for him to be willing to kill himself protecting people who's lives "have worth". Like was directly said to you: the good things are worth fighting for.

Also, to add, in terms of something bad, I was flicking through Netflix/some other movie apps and I like horror films, but I don’t understand why for example Netflix, has about 100+ horror films but about 75% of them are very poor low budget near unwatchable nonsense. I don’t mean to disrespect any of the film makers, but some of the films they have are garbage! This isn’t just in the horror genre, I think they just want to over saturate the film volume but there sure are some unwatchable films with ridiculous titles. Maybe I should lower my standard again and give some a go...

I love this one! I love the whole bit where he is out of it walking around and doesn't notice that shit has hit the fan.

My wife is from England and she introduced me to Simon Pegg many years ago. Spaced is hilarious if you haven't seen it, by the way. It was his first show I believe.

Hiii...gooddream

I really like zombies movies.
It's a one type of thriller movie which creates fear among us.I am always So exiting to watch this types of movies.

Summary of the film in very precise terms which I liked, thank you

Summary of the
Film in very precise terms
Which I liked, thank you

                 - divram


I'm a bot. I detect haiku.

promises to be a good movie, I have to watch one day;)

@gooddream this is one of the great move I watch really good.

Posted using Partiko Android

我也挺喜欢看僵尸电影

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.26
TRX 0.13
JST 0.032
BTC 61035.98
ETH 2886.89
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.67