Ziggy Stardust Bungalows - Koh Phayam: Still amazing 3 years later

in #getyerlearnon5 years ago

This place was actually discovered and chosen by a family member who upon meeting me here already knew more about this island than I did because I had never actually been here.

Ziggy's is a fantastic and cheap bungalow operation on the south-western coast of Koh Phayam. They don't have much of an internet presence (unless you are searching for them by name) and they are truly one of the "hidden gems" of this island, if not the entire country.


source

This establishment could be considered small because there are only about a dozen bungalows here at all. You see all the sand in the picture because the beach is right next to it.

The bungalows are simple, that is for sure. However, almost everything on this island is rustic and Ziggy's is no exception.


source

I've been coming here for years and even though the bungalows themselves are simplistic the area that it is built on is meticulously maintained. There are people in the gardens maintaining the area pretty much all day long. Therefore, when you leave your bungalow and head to the beachfront restaurant I mean, you feel completely like you are in paradise.

Of course it becomes oppressively hot around 3pm at which point i recommend you either find a love for the sea or just drink a LOT of cold beer.

30000002000479241_wh_2.jpg
source

I suppose this is just a place for people who actually can't afford a beachfront resort but still want access to one. I consider myself to be someone who want exactly that.

Sort:  

That is paradise alright. If you don't mind me asking how much is it for the week. Prices would help as I would seriously pop over for that kind of holiday. What are the facilities like and is the food any good?

The place for a fan bungalow is 800 B / night but i bet depending on what time of year you come you could get a discount for a week stay. They have a bar and restaurant with slightly expensive food (compared to the mainland) but really, i can understand why this might be given the remote location

Wow, this looks like a really awesome place! I think it would be awesome to just wake up in the morning and walk out into the sea. I am always surprised by the number of people in your pictures that don't look like they are native to Thailand. There must be a much larger group of foreigners living there than I would have guessed.

oh this is a tourist island. Almost no locals live or work here. The island is staffed mostly by people from Myanmar.

Gotcha!

Posted using Partiko Android

I am jealous to see the beach tourism area there has been beautified to be extraordinary, even though it is an ordinary beach and not much different from in my area..

But the beach tourism area in my area is very disappointing, there is no such building at all that can attract tourists to visit, should the tourism manager be able to take an example of what was done there, I'm sure the beaches in our area can be as magnificent as in Koh Phayam..

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.30
TRX 0.12
JST 0.034
BTC 63799.64
ETH 3130.40
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.97