You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: The purge of nostalgia: clearing out the parents’ attic.

in #getyerlearnon5 years ago

Oh wow, I would have never remembered folding notes that way if I hadn't seen this. Passing notes in he hallway was huge back in the day.

I am crazy nostalgic when it comes to my childhood. Mostly because hardly anything remains because we were always moving and losing stuff. My step-dad split up with my mom when I was 10 and she had a mental breakdown. He stuck all of our stuff in storage while she went to the hospital and didn't pay for it so they auctioned it all of.

I would give anything to have that a box of notes like that. Only because I can't remember much. Just reading through one line of a note would bring me back to that moment and all the surrounding things that were happening.

But perhaps this kind of thing isn't health, who knows. It is, in fact, true that the only moment is now and ultimately it creates a kind of misery reliving the past.

Sort:  

i didn't read all the notes because most of it was about nothing at all. it was funny, but it is already in the trash on the way to the dump. I was feeling worse about occupying space in my parents' house since I don't have a place of my own. Maybe some day I'll get a storage unit and start pack-ratting again.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.30
TRX 0.12
JST 0.032
BTC 59043.03
ETH 2983.41
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.72