Kayak Time: Exploring the Upper Pack Delta w/ @CrowbarMamasteemCreated with Sketch.

in #ghsc6 years ago (edited)


Hey guys! So, we have been looking for some nice areas with calm waters and beautiful views for our family kayaking adventures. Lake Pend Oreille is gorgeous and fun to be out on, but with a family of 6 it is much less stressful for this mama if I don't have to worry about boats & wakes rocking & tipping my little ones. So, we heard about a couple good spots and went out exploring. We took some crazy roads and learned a lot and 2 hours later, found our destination. The Upper Pack Delta.

To clarify, we took the rough roads trying to find a couple lesser known spots, but they ended up being a bit too weedy. This part of the Upper Pack Delta is right off the freeway and easy to find.

I chose @Crowbarmama as a handle because I believe in doing the best you can with what you have on hand. The crowbar is a multi-purpose tool. You’ll notice my photography is a bit rough, my grammar is not the most polished, but as a homeschooling, homesteading mama of 4, if I waited to take my photos until the light was perfect or re-edited my posts a 5th time ( I shoot for 3 drafts), I would never get a post out!

Don’t sweat the small stuff, just Crowbar it!

If you like what you're reading, please upvote and subscribe! Also, I love feedback! Constructive criticism is one of the best ways to grow. I want to know what you think!

20180516_002249_0001.png

GHSC Discord


▶️ DTube
▶️ IPFS
Sort:  

Crowbarbaby is so cute!!
Seems like your family had a lovely day!

Thank you. Yes, we had a great time once we finally found the place. The weather was perfect.

Yeah, it looks really fun!

Not too keen on being by that road, but the scenery looks nice. Those water lilly pad flowers are great, especially close up too....
Looks like you all had a great opportunity for an outing.

I agree. I prefer being out in nature away from the roads, but the other spot we found was thick in weeds. We spent a couple hours and had to use 4wd to get to a couple other possible locations, but they were just too hard to get to with all the kids. 🤣

The kids were expecting to see frogs on the lilypads, so they were a bit disappointed, but I was just grateful to see the beautiful flowers!

Thanks for stopping by!

So cool! I love kayaking. I am always super sore after. lol using muscles I don't normally use. Looks like a beautiful location. Water looks cold....lol :) Great family time!

The water was actually quite nice even though we didn't swim, but it was warm enough that getting splashed felt very refreshing.

Growing up, my family didn't really have any hobbies. That's something I really think is important to keep families connected. I hope my kids remember these adventures fondly someday.

Ahh that is nice that the water wasn't freezing. Oh I totally agree it is nice to have hobbies that the family can do together. :) Something I look forward to, when I have a family.

Looked like a great adventure! I was out kayaking/fishing this morning with my son. Such a relaxing and nice thing to do on a weekend. Cheers!

Thanks! It was a great day on the water. How old is your son? My husband dreams of the day he can go kayak fishing, but with 4 kids ages 2, 5, 8 & 12, it gets pretty hectic. 😄 We need to plan for him to go off on his own or maybe with just with the older two one of these days.

Haha! Yeah, that's a lot of kids to deal with while fishing. My son is 17, he's moving out of the house and into the college dorms next weekend. About to be empty nesters...

Wow! @scottshots That's going to be an adjustment, right? Will he be within driving distance?

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.24
TRX 0.11
JST 0.032
BTC 61649.11
ETH 3003.31
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.77