When Huckleberry Picking Doesn't Work Out... You Go to the Blueberry Farm!

in #ghsc6 years ago


So, the plan was to take the kids huckleberry picking and that's really what I wanted to share with you all. However, we're still new to it and didn't have much success. So rather than go home empty handed, hungry and with grumpy kids, we found a really cool Blueberry Farm in a nearby town! Check out our haul!

There were several types to choose from and the owner gave us a list of rules, the most important being, "Make sure you eat as many blueberries as you can!" I think we nailed it! Well, I certainly did!

I chose @Crowbarmama as a handle because I believe in doing the best you can with what you have on hand. The crowbar is a multi-purpose tool. You’ll notice my photography is a bit rough, my grammar is not the most polished, but as a homeschooling, homesteading mama of 4, if I waited to take my photos until the light was perfect or re-edited my posts a 5th time ( I shoot for 3 drafts), I would never get a post out!

Don’t sweat the small stuff, just Crowbar it!

If you like what you're reading, please upvote and subscribe! Also, I love feedback! Constructive criticism is one of the best ways to grow. I want to know what you think!

20180516_002249_0001.png

GHSC Discord


▶️ DTube
▶️ IPFS
Sort:  

Awesome blueberry picking! My all-time favourite fruit! Looks like everyone had a blast picking. That was my favourite thing to do with the kids when they were much younger...trips to the various fruit farms to pick our own!

Yes! With my daughter's allergies, we can't do cherries or strawberries, but blueberries are fairly safe. Sadly, she doesn't like them as much as the other kids, but still has fun picking them. We're looking forward to trying apple picking this year!

@generikat and I picked blueberries on Monday! It sure beats picking huckleberries!

Yep, we learned that! Lol! But a friend gave us a couple cuttings and they're taking, so I'm curious to see if they end up giving us any berries next year!

That's a lot of blueberries, what did you do with them? Make jam or something?

We froze half, ate some and made a blueberry-apple crumble and some blueberry sauce to out over ice cream. Yum!

Yummy... I wish we have farms like this, we only have some self-pick strawberry farm at highland area around here.

Strawberries are a favorite of my kids, but I have one daughter who is allergic so we don't get them often. Where are you located?

Allergic is such a drag...
I'm from Malaysia, tropical weather, so all kinds of berries are really hard to get.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.31
TRX 0.11
JST 0.033
BTC 64733.60
ETH 3170.85
USDT 1.00
SBD 4.16