Why I Dehydrate... And Future Plans For More Dehydrating

in #ghsc6 years ago (edited)


Why do I dehydrate?

What have I dehydrated?

What do I plan to dehydrate in the future?

Want to know? Then this is the post for you!

Why do I dehydrate?


  • Healthier - as I know where these herbs originated from. I had a hand in every step of their process from seed (harvested last year) to harvest. And nothing adds flavor to home-cooked meals like fresh (or dehydrated herbs). Mt Golden D even commented on this recently when we had a dinner out with my parents. He had ordered a beef roast platter and said the meat was bland and had no flavor. He added (which scored him some brownie points with me that, nothing tastes like my cooking.
  • Frugal and cheaper - I checked the prices online after I made my DTube video. As you can see below the price for just under 2-ounces of oregano leaves is $4.79. I weighed up my plastic container of dried oregano leaves (as seen in the video) and it was just over 2-ounces; which I guess to have cost me about a nickel to grow. The oregano that's in the front herb and flower garden is from 2016 then re-seeded with a flick of maybe ten seeds this season.

q.png

What have I dehydrated?


  • All the herbs imaginable
  • Tomatoes for making powder to add to stews, soups and sauces
  • Mushrooms- to add to casseroles, stir-fry or pasta dishes
  • Cucumber skins- add to homemade salad dressing
  • Jerky
  • Peppers for homemade spices
  • Valerian root for tinctures and possibly tea
  • Wild lettuce leaves
  • Calendula flowers


What do I plan to dehydrate in the future?


  • Lemons and limes for making fermented sodas over the winter
  • More herbs
  • More flowers for tea mixtures (marsh mallow, rose petals, etc)
  • Aloe vera (Just did this- watch for a post coming soon)

I have many more ideas but these are the ones coming to mind today.


▶️ DTube
▶️ IPFS

signature.gif

tsu banner.png

Join Us On Discord

SB-Marvel-Family.gif

Sort:  

Hi, congratz, you are now listed on the Steemians directory (https://www.steemiandir.com/) You can read more about this initiative here: https://steemit.com/steemit/@anonyvoter/new-selections-of-august-7-2018 If you like this project it would be great if you could resteem the post to make more people aware of it.
If you don’t want to be listed just leave me a comment and I will delete your profile from the website. Thank you very much for reading and I’m looking forward to your feedback!
PS: I’m NOT a bot so… I’m really looking forward to your feedback 😊

I use fever few for my Wife's migraine headaches. It works better with some thyme spice added to help absorption.

Keep on drying herbs, I am headed that direction myself. ♡♡♡

LOVE hearing true testimonials from people who have used these remedies. GREAT to know how well it worked for your wife.

I actually used a about a teaspoon the other day when I had an episode coming on from my auto-immune disease and the feverfew tincture seemed to help ease some of the heavy feeling in my head and ears.

She has MS, so I understand! We treat that herbally also. You should avoid Echinacea, Moringa, and ashwaganda too; as they support the immune system.

Tinctures are a good way to store and concentrate herbs. I just finished a large batch of Comfrey from a root decoction.

I love my dehydrator. Especially when we have excess. Have you ever tried making meals @goldendawne? Crackers, pizza, cookies, falafel - all raw of course. It's the most yummy food. In my raw restaurant days my dehydrator ran constantly. But the aromas.....yum!!

I do a bunch of dehydrating too! I dehydrate all kinds of vegetables and fruits to add to my meals for backpacking. It's so nice when I'm out in the mountains to have some real food and not just the packaged crap.

We have tons of lemons and limes around here, but I've never thought to dehydrate them. Or aloe vera which we also have a lot of! I just dehydrated some peppers to add to the instant pot when making chili or whatever in the future. We love dehydrated bananas! They are mighty tasty.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.29
TRX 0.12
JST 0.033
BTC 63318.34
ETH 3108.17
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.97