ALMOST TWO WEEKS NOW - MAMA GUINEA KEET UPDATE

in #ghsc6 years ago

We are doing great so far!


The short version of this update is that out of twenty eggs, the mama Guinea Fowl hatched fifteen and two died within the first day. As sad as that might be, the remaining thirteen have been doing great ever since, so we have a reason to be grateful. The long version is in the vlog below.

GUINEA UPDATE VIDEO

As always, I'm @papa-pepper and here's the proof:


proof-of-thirteen-little-keets-doing-well

Until next time…

GIF provided by @anzirpasai


FOR MORE PAPA-PEPPER CONTENT, CHECK ME OUT ON SOLA


TO TRANSLATE POSTS VIA OPERATION TRANSLATION CLICK HERE

Join The @ghscollective On Discord: https://discord.gg/hPJs5Rb

Sort:  

They are looking so cute. I wish I could touch the little chick . thanks for sharing.

I wish that you could touch one too!

These are SO pretty! My Dad @quailbreeder will appreciate this - he loves his guinea fowl

Cool! Looks like our next hen is sitting!

Oh wonderful! Baby anything is one of the highlights of homesteading

Is it true they make great "watch dogs" for laying hens? Not sure what I would do with 13 of them...

What's your plan for them, PP?

Tick and chigger control, and likely coyotes bait, I bet. :'(

Is there a bounty on coyotes in Arkansas?

I don't think there is a bounty; but it is likely open season on them!

:D

Same here in Maine. We used to have a bounty because they were such a problem but the State got cheap, and then taken over by environuts.

Worshipping nature, to the exclusion of all else, is moronic! *If they want people to die, to protect nature, THEY should volunteer to go first!
>:(

LOL...that's what I always say. Show us all "how."

I would even offer to help; with THAT Greenie plan! :)

Don't think so, but they're out there. Once I finish the perimeter fence, they should never be an issue.

Good to hear, they are too much work to be coyote bait! :)

Correct on the first "job," plus eggs, meat and a potential source of income!

I hope you do manage to get enough of them for meat and eggs! :)

Hi,

Guinea is needed to control the chiggers around the farm.

I appreciate the update very much. It is good to observe progress!

Beautiful Keets! Not bad results for the first time!

Wow, this us great. The guinea fowls are really showing improvements in their growth..
I remember just when you posted on their hatching...
Great work @ papa-pepper

It's so sweet to see them doing great so far. That's so caring of you @papa-pepper, making a vlog for these wonderful creatures

Yep, sad she didn't hatch all the eggs, that is how most birds do lol...

Yup, it's enough and we are happy! Another mother just started sitting too!

That is nice, I really like your posts here on steemit I believe soon I will be having a lot of upvote as you do.
Thanks for the reply, God Bless.

Very nice looking.. I was lucky some time ago I came across guinea fowl ... But they stand in unity... I almost run hehehe when I didn't notice it was guinea fowl, they are too many... I wish i had something to captured some.. but I left them Cox they won't slip their eye's off me... I keep going.

Cool! Were they wild?

Yes wild guinea fowl... @papa-pepper I never seen such in my life more than 20+ but funny part am only with phone and nothing else on that day could have try catch one lol..

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.30
TRX 0.12
JST 0.034
BTC 63750.99
ETH 3130.22
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.95