GROWING A DIY GARDEN TENT... ONE THING TO CONSIDER BEFORE PLANTING KIWANOS

in #ghsc6 years ago

BE CAREFUL WITH YOUR SEEDS!


If you've never grown the African Horned Melon, AKA Kiwano, AKA Jelly Melon, there is something that you should know first. These things grow, and grow, and grow! Trust me, this is my third year growing them, and they can even be destructive, according to @jed78.

Here's another view of that "DIY garden tent" featured in the cover image. If you try growing it, make sure to give it plenty of room to grow. It is rumored that these vines can boast lengths of up to 100 feet and that a single plant can produce 100 fruits. This is our third year growing the Kiwano, and we are still learning how to deal with it.

ONE THING TO CONSIDER VLOG

As always, I'm @papa-pepper and here's the proof:


proof-of-kiwanos-growing-like-a-beast

Until next time…

GIF provided by @anzirpasai


FOR MORE PAPA-PEPPER CONTENT, CHECK ME OUT ON SOLA


TO TRANSLATE POSTS VIA OPERATION TRANSLATION CLICK HERE

Join The @ghscollective On Discord: https://discord.gg/hPJs5Rb

Sort:  

I successfully posted before you did tonight.

https://steemit.com/homesteading/@dwells/papa-pepper-on-kiwanos

Man I was scrambling! Eggs were not involved in the making of this post.

If you understood how distracted I am, you would be impressed that I got it up at all! LOL - YOU WIN!

I'm a Weiner!

Wait, did I spell that right?

Yeah, totally!

When ya gonna come get your kitties?! @papa-pepper

And the word of the day is...Tendrils. LOl. I will always and forever remember that word. Haha. The kiwano cave is awesome. My kids would totally be making a fort out of that. Great thinking about the offering unknown type plants at a farmers market. Definitely a way to get noticed.

Sure! You ever want some seeds for these, just let me know. Your kids could have that Kiwano Cave in no time!

If you end up with some to spare then that would be awesome!!

So, have the sleepovers started in the DIY Garden Tent yet? I would imagine with the melons there, you could disappear for quite a long period of time before anyone would find you. You could just relax, munch on the jelly melon and pretty much escape it all. The thing looks practically sound proof. :)

You are right! My new bug out location!

Good Gravy!! Are those from the same seeds?

Yup. Sure are!

I was looking through that post by @jed78 and a few of his others. Those Kiwano plants can get huge!

Did he end up leaving Steemit? I didn't see that he had posted in a while.

He disappeared, then I showed up in Texas looking for him and he came back for a bit, then, he disappeared again.

Strange. Maybe he just got too busy with real life. When you're posting on here every day and spending hours on end, it can be easy to forget there's an outside world. Heh

Your shirt camouflages well. You look like a floating head in your proof photo.

awesome photography and nice concept sir.. thanks for share your inportant concept..

you have done a marvelous work here @papa-pepper

Cool garden hobbit house @papa-pepper! The African horned cucumber can be quite a weed taking over so this is a great idea to contain it. Kind of

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.30
TRX 0.12
JST 0.033
BTC 64344.02
ETH 3142.36
USDT 1.00
SBD 4.01