THE BEST WAY EVER TO COMBINE TRELLISES AND RAISED BEDS

in #ghsc6 years ago

This was an incredible thought!


Simply put, I love this idea. It'll especially benefit people who have very limited gardening space. If done properly, it would be the only method that would allow you to utilize 100% of your garden area for plant growth while still using raised beds! I'm kind of excited in this video, but check it out!

THIS IS GOING TO REVOLUTIONIZE MY GARDENING EXPERIENCE

THE SIMPLE BUT POWERFUL CONCEPT

Normally, raised beds are made in gardens with a walkway going between the beds. People use concrete blocks, railroad ties, wood, or rocks to make a raised section full of soil into which they plant. This is my first year trying this method, but I'm enjoying it already.

When I wanted to make trellises or archways for my climbing and vining plants to grow on, I just made smaller raised beds and had the plants climb up them. As I continued to build and plant, I noticed something.

Technically, I had room for trellises over my walkways, if I'd only place them in a way that they'd arch from the end of one raised bed into another. By doing this, I'd be able to use all the space in-between the raised beds to grow plants too!

I'm building a new trellis out of bamboo so that I can space the plants better and be able to harvest the raised bed through the trellis, which would be difficult with a cattle panel trellis. I think I'd dedicate an area of my garden next year to trying to use this concept as an example garden that could really help people with limited space! This is so exciting for me! Get going and get growing!

As always, I'm @papa-pepper and here's the proof:


proof-of-growing-with-trellises-and-raised-beds-anyway...now-it-is-time-to-revolutionize

Until next time…

GIF provided by @anzirpasai


FOR MORE PAPA-PEPPER CONTENT, CHECK ME OUT ON SOLA


TO TRANSLATE POSTS VIA OPERATION TRANSLATION CLICK HERE

Join The @ghscollective On Discord: https://discord.gg/hPJs5Rb

Sort:  

Cool initiative to grow and take something new
out of your garden.
I recalled you guys were eating all green the other day.
Keep on postin'

Oh yeah! Eating green and healthy! Thanks man!

Keep on innovating! Trellises over the walkways they'll be beautiful once grown out.

Very good,I am proud to see your success work like this.a

howdy @papa-pepper! hey this is an innovative design that could dramatically improve the efficiency of many people's gardens, great job!

Thank you! Still at 49?

lol! just for a little while. 50 will be a nice milestone!

And you're there!

lol! yes sir it's a good milestone and thanks to you I got there a lot faster!

I like the archway design you're sharing here. Trellising is a major consideration and can make or break a garden layout. Way to grow!

Gotta make it tall enough for your Philippine visitors! Looks great!

Gotta make it tall
Enough for your Philippine
Visitors! Looks great!

                 - mhm-philippines


I'm a bot. I detect haiku.

Sounds great! Thanks!

Reaching through will be key. If you can get the vines to leaf out mostly on the top of the arch and keep the harvesting windows clear this should work out pretty great!

What if the whole raised bed was inside, and you run the trellis from the outside of a bed to the outside of the other bed? This would be good for shady plants, and you could do the opposite for sunny plants, which would definitely cut down the unused space overall, though maybe not 100%.

I love your garden and it's giving me garden envy. We are in the middle of winter here with hard frosts so only the hardiest plants are surviving. I'm looking forward to warmer weather to get back out in my garden and grow lots of variety of plants. We have limited space on our property so I really like your idea of utilising the space. Great post! Thank you.

You just have to wait your turn! LOL - Hopefully some of what I share can help you once you get back out there!

good post. I really like your plantation

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.28
TRX 0.13
JST 0.033
BTC 61136.19
ETH 2969.45
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.64