WATCHING THE ANIMALS TOO, NOT JUST THE GARDEN

in #ghsc6 years ago

Vacations can be tough on the homestead, unless you've got someone to watch your livestock.


Thankfully, we live right next door to @bluerthangreen & @allforthegood, so both families have a certain freedom when needed. Recently, our neighbors departed for California, and they entrusted their homestead to us!

CHECK THESE ANIMALS OUT!

First off, they've got an impressive collection of goats! They have a wide variety of sizes, colors, ear shapes and horns! They are pretty friendly, and even have two baby kids!

The @little-peppers like to visit them and the guard dog that watches over them. Crossing the cattle panel/barbed wire fence only takes a pool ladder! Those things sure come in handy.

In their flock of Muscovy ducks are quite a few mothers sitting on eggs. There are a lot of eggs around here, which means a lot of little ducklings to hatch in the near future.

Speaking of little ducklings! Quite a few already hatched and are in this little brooder, but the next ones to hatch will all be cared for by their mothers. There's nothing like seeing some cute ducks in the morning to brighten your day!

Once you add in the cats and the dogs, it's a pretty good bunch of animals here! The kittens are on rodent patrol most of the day and the dogs guard the livestock and poultry, so every creature has its own job too!

Oops! I almost forgot these guys! There is a healthy group of rabbits who also call this homestead their home. This one is actually the daughter of one of ours! However long it takes the family of @bluerthangreen & @allforthegood to get home, we'll be having a fun time watching their animals too!

As always, I'm @papa-pepper and here's the proof:


proof-of-other-peoples-animals

Until next time…

GIF provided by @anzirpasai


FOR MORE PAPA-PEPPER CONTENT, CHECK ME OUT ON SOLA


TO TRANSLATE POSTS VIA OPERATION TRANSLATION CLICK HERE

Join The @ghscollective On Discord: https://discord.gg/hPJs5Rb

Sort:  

You guys are pretty good with animals.
I see a different color of duck.
I usually see chicken that color.
Cats, dog, pretty impressive.
Keep on postin'

It's getting bigger and bigger!....:)...

Animal life, behavior and modification are fun

Thanks for sharing

#am a proudly zoologist

Hey man sent you a friend request on discord. I hope everything works out and I can meet up with you Tuesday. Looks like you got your hands full there with all those animals HA HA. Be glad you don't have to watch a bunch of cats all the time LOL.

Wow, you are an animal lover😊.
It's a sign that you're really a good lover.

When I lived in Florida, they used to round up the Muskovies and put them in the park lakes as opposed to the canals. Who knows why. They are not huge on quacking, I didn't think they were ducks at first. And they eat grass! and it takes forever for them to incubate their eggs! But, God, you got to love them and their little faces.

My kids always love watching the neighbors pets, mowing their lawn whatever - when they are gone. It is nice to have someone that you can count on, especially as a homesteader. You work so hard and so long hours, there is time needed to get away from it all. It is all the sweeter when you have great like neighbors like you do.

It is so nice that you have instilled the help one another into your children. I have the utmost respect for anyone who raises their children up to become functional members of society. Yay, you!

Besides, they'll be taking care of you when you get old, so do a good job with them! ;)

Upped and Steemed

Tip!

Edit- I just overdrafted a tip, Bad business, I assure you. I will make it up to you. Sorry! :(

Sorry, the tip is higher then your deposit.
You can check your balance by sending 0.001 SBD to @tipu with memo: balance
(the minimal tip is 0.1 SBD)

I’ll admit those ducking are cute! Not sure I’d want my own though. I’ve heard how noisy they are! I’ll stick to my chickens.

muskovies are very quite...they don't quack. More like a hiss when they make any noise at all.

Good to know. But don’t tell my husband that because he wants ducks and I don’t.

where's your sense of adventure?
I got it...compromise.

not a duck.

Haha, we don’t need geese either. We can find plenty of those at my parents place. I like how you picked the more flattering pictures to share!

Noisy would be Guinea Fowl, these guys hardly make a peep.

@papa-pepper

It's a good thing to be our brothers keeper...... The garden is good ljooking though

Probably I should come play with the @little-peppers too lol

Great post !

Now that is my kind of place! haha I hear you about finding people to watch over your yard when you go on vacation. I was just gone for almost 7 days, and luckily I was able to get my friend to come over and water my plants. And they needed it, 114 degree heat here in phoenix! ouch! haha Looks like your neighbors put their trust in very capable hands!

Ouch! That does sound hot!

lol yeah it is a bit hot here! but is super nice from like October to May haha.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.30
TRX 0.12
JST 0.034
BTC 64231.88
ETH 3128.59
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.95