Garden Update: Dirty Hands, Happy Heart - and a whole lot of food growing!

in #ghsc6 years ago

The garden is positively ZINGING in this weather we're having - warm days and rain make for a perfect Spring so far. The tips of all the gums are gold and pale green with new growth and every time I turn my back something grows either feet or inches, depending on the plant type. The irises are about to bloom, the kangaroo paws are nearly in bloom, the elder flowers are out, and so are all the grasses - J's hayfever is going NUTS. We're pretty much eating solely from the garden, with a bit of coconut yoghurt or halloumi to pep thing up a bit.

image.png

It's a good time to do a garden update for @simplymike's tag #gardenjournal2018 - as Autumnal harvests and tidy up's happen in the Northern Hemisphere, here in the southern hemisphere it's all prepping for heat, as well as keeping on top of weeds and starting to sow and plant seedlings.

The kale and brassicas planted a few weeks ago are growing well - just top dressed them with mushroom compost as I had a heap delivered and some comfrey tea and mulch.

The small bed near the fenceline, visible from the house, is looking cute with the feathery fennel tops (fennel self seeded this year, and I have been harvesting tons of it - yum), calendula, lettuce going to seed, garlic chives and so on. As it's well fertilised, watered and mulched I've also planted a few eggplants and peppers in there, as a kind of control and counter for the wicking beds - which ones will fare better over the summer?

image.png

So, the wicking beds are fantastic so far - got two sorts of tomato, a few different peppers, corn (which I have never been able to water enough, so they'll do great in the wicking bed), lebanese cucumber (which I'll get going up a frame to save space), pumpkin which will trail off the side, jalapeno and eggplant (two varieties, one a thai one). I'll do a more detailed post on wicking beds tomorrow for @jackdub and @makingstuff's Maker's challenge - go check that one out, it's a super cool idea.

Have also planted beans along the fenceline, hope they handle my intermittent watering at this busy time of year at work! The snow peas along the back fenceline are going NUTS, as is the parsley, silverbeet, spinach and garlic. The scapes have just come out.

image.png

The ollas are working really, really well so far - have had some really warm days and the soil stays moist. When they get a bit bigger and can survive the bugs I'll mulch these pumpkins, and all my other seedlings, properly.

image.png

The artichokes are starting to flower too - picked enough for a meal tonight, along with a whole heap of beetroot that I roast and pickled (recipe in later post).

image.png

The swedes are done, must plant more next year. Potato patch doing well, not entirely happy about the nettles amongst them that hubby surreptitiously planted as I'm worried about controlling them, but do like that 'soup' calls in one patch - nettle and potato soup is one of my favourites.

image.png

The hops are going CRAZY - got them growing up three poles, and trying to stop them growing all over the lemon verbena, artichokes and dwarf apple. The nectarine, pears and quinces are all showing nascent fruit, as is the blueberry. We have rhubarb coming out of our ears - so much stewed and in the freezer. Nastursiums starting to poke from the soil, as are last years pumpkin, zucchini and tomato seeds growing up from the soil - they'll be weeds eventually after I separate and transplant what I want to keep.

Everything is going really well and I think it's going to be a good season. Happy Days. More on wicking beds to come - just haven't had chance to finish off the Dtube I started, and I really want to Dtube this one! I know @nateonsteemit is eagerly awaiting that, sorry mate - I'll get on it eventually! Hope the photo above is a taster enough.

Wanted to 'list' what we had growing at the moment, inspired by @mountainjewel who did a similiar stocktake earlier in the week.

Fruit

Blueberries, raspberries, nectarines, apricots, apples, pears, plums, rhubarb, black and red currant, pomegranate, elder, quinces, mandarin, lime, lemon, kaffir lime, goji berry, strawberries, watermelon (thanks @nateonsteemit for reminder to do this one), rockmelons.

Vegetables

zucchini, squash, pumpkin, cucamelon, corn, artichokes, silverbeet, spinach, fennel, snowpeas, runner beans, fennel, potato, tomato, cucumber, jalapeno, other chillis, three sorts of peppers, two sorts of eggplant, beetroot, spring onions, garlic, leeks, three sorts of pumpkin.

Flowers and Herbs

coriander, parsley, oregano (two sorts), thyme (3 sorts), thai basil, greek basil, basil, mint, peppermint, nettle, nastursium, comfrey, sage, sunflowers, hops.

Somehow it never seems enough - I just want to fill every space with something edible, but need to calm down and make sure I'm doing it right so I don't strain the soil too much and keep everything in it's right place, happy, well fed and nurtured by the other plants and systems around it.

Hope you enjoyed my garden update - please do comment and let me know what's happening in your gardens!



B2235A50C31CD126067343B513524EE62.gif

My_Post_1.jpg

If you're a supporter of all things natural healing, you might like to read our introductory post here. We'd also love to welcome you on Discord here!!

image.png

Sort:  

Lovely work!

Somehow it never seems enough - I just want to fill every space with something edible

I can see this as being something I'd want to do too once the growing began, but as you say, got to not over-do it so that everything can flourish.

Enjoy, what a great project :D

Thanks @abh12345 and thanks for stopping by! Yeah, I go a bit crazy - but it's worth it too, if I plan it right!! It's tiring though - I tell you what I desired a beer this weekend after all the hard work we put in - and that's not even half of what we have done this week!

I can imagine there is a lot of thought gone into what should go where and at what time, etc.

Enjoy a beer in the garden after all your hard work :D

I pretty much just think about it all the time! It's just so rewarding, and so relaxing at the same time, even though it's hard yakka!

Well there are far worse things to have occupy your mind. haha, hard yakka, that's a new one to me!

Ha I was aware when I used it that you might not know it.. very old school Australian. There is also a brand of work gear here called the same. It's kinda like Carharrt I suppose but not as cool. Think sweating men wielding big tools driving trucks. Tres manly.

Posted using Partiko Android

Wow! So jealous of your springtime in Australia! You garden looks great :D

I'll post abput the wicking beds tonight!!!

Posted using Partiko Android

Lots happening in the garden :)

Absolutely - and that's not the half of it!

Your gardens are beautiful! Love your artichokes! Mine did well early on, but the heat wiped them out at the end of the summer. So many things to look at in your photos!

Thanks!!!! The artichokes are gorgeous aren't they? Shame yours didn't hack the heat. I did get rid of a bed that was too far from a tap. I love pickling them - they are so tasty! xxx

I've never pickled them. We like them fresh, with melted butter or mayo.

Oh yeahhhhhh!! Yum.

Posted using Partiko Android

Woohoo! So diverse and abundant! Your garden is ROCKING! Love it love it 💚✨✨✨☀️

Ha, awesome!!! We love it too! xx

Hi @riverflows, I'm @checky ! While checking the mentions made in this post I noticed that @makingstuff doesn't exist on Steem. Did you mean to write @makinstuff ?

If you found this comment useful, consider upvoting it to help keep this bot running. You can see a list of all available commands by replying with !help.

@riverflows, I live in the northern hemisphere and my autumn garden is long finished. My garden boxes are all cleaned up and covered in hay mulch and tucked in for the long winter. I do have a tiny spot with some lettuce, bok choy, kale, and cabbage. Mostly picked the last of the crop today since the days and nights are simply way too cold for anything to grow. Your garden looks so beautiful and it is sure nice to see gardens growing while I nestle in for winter soon. Thank for sharing. I upvoted and resteemed. Want others to enjoy the wonderful garden.

That is so kind of you!!! It's been sad watching the gardens pack up as the cold weather comes in the north, but such are cycles right? I'm sure I'll be entertaining you all for months now with my southern hemisphere garden. The only other one I know here is @quochuy so if you find more let me know!!!

Posted using Partiko Android

Look at all those growing crops. Reading your post almost made me forget how sad and empty my garden looks at the moment :0)

Somehow it never seems enough - I just want to fill every space with something edible...

I can totally relate to that. These last two years I extended the garden, simply because there is so much I want to grow. But because I was so limited in my actions this year, I realized too late I had bitten off more than I could chew. The 2 garden beds in the front yard were seriously neglected. So I will have to take a more practical approach next year.

I will definitely ook up what kangaroo pows and Libanese cucumbers are. Never heard of those before. And, as always, I'm intrigued by crops I'm not familiar with.

Very nice update, @riverflows. You made me forget my frustration about my own garden for a couple of minutes :0)

Lebanese cucumbers are those little cucumbers, and kangaroo paws are flowers, not edible - they are very distinctively Australian. Glad I could oblige!! You'll be getting more, for sure!

This looks marvellous. I really need to get going and rework on my garden and install the new beds.

Posted using Partiko iOS

Hi @riverflows!

Your post was upvoted by @steem-ua, new Steem dApp, using UserAuthority for algorithmic post curation!
Your UA account score is currently 4.058 which ranks you at #3443 across all Steem accounts.
Your rank has improved 6 places in the last three days (old rank 3449).

In our last Algorithmic Curation Round, consisting of 236 contributions, your post is ranked at #17.

Evaluation of your UA score:
  • Some people are already following you, keep going!
  • The readers appreciate your great work!
  • Good user engagement!

Feel free to join our @steem-ua Discord server

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.28
TRX 0.12
JST 0.033
BTC 62233.47
ETH 2998.30
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.50