Pretty, Pretty POPCORN!! :D

in #ghsc5 years ago


Good morning all! Long time, no write!



Remember when I said homestead life is super busy in the spring and summer? Well, that was no joke...

Things are still just rocking along faster than I can keep up with, but oh well! I thought this morning I would take time out to connect with my steemian friends and show you all some really neat corn! Yep, I said corn...

Remember when I said my 'Three Sisters Garden' was really not worth the effort? Well, it wasn't a total bust. We got some really, really pretty corn out of there!



P1090428.jpg

Lovely, right! This is the popcorn sent to me by @Papa-Pepper. If you are gardening, I would totally recommend checking out his store and buying some seeds!



P1090430.jpg

We have the corn hanging up to finish drying and we just can't wait to POP it! Home grown popcorn! I've never grown that and popped it before, so it will be fun for sure!



P1090432.jpg


Only thing is, it's so pretty, I almost hate to eat it!



page-break-1024x256.png

So, what do you think?! Is that pretty corn, or is that PRETTY CORN?!



Thanks for stopping by!! Sorry it's been a while since I've managed to post! Have a lovely day! ♥



page-break-1024x256.png

Badge comp.png
Creative Commons License
This work by @SquishySquid is licensed under a Creative Commons Attribution-ShareAlike 4.0 International License.

Join Us On Discord. https://discord.gg/hPJs5Rb

TIBLogo

20180516_002249_0001.png

Sort:  

Uhhhmmmmm. That's some pretty corn.

I've never popped the colored varieties, I'd love to give that a try. I'm guessing it'd be tasty corn, too. Specially if popped with bacon grease...

Thanks for checking in... Always good to hear from you!

Mmm that sounds good! I usually just use butter, but might have to try it that way, thanks!

Beautiful, beautiful @squishysquid. Can't wait to see the finished popcorn, although like you, it's so pretty I would hate to pop it, lol Glad to hear you're having a super productive summer. I'm sure your gardens are going like gang busters! Hopefully you're able to beat the heat a bit. Good to see you again :)

Thanks so much! ♥ Yep, we are going to try some this afternoon hopefully, and I bet it will be fantastic!
Im sure we will enjoy it inside, in the air conditioning, as it has been hot as can be here!

It looks really beautiful. I have seen these coloured corns in the market and love it! I am wondering if it is sweeter or not than the regular ones.

Well, its popcorn, so Im not really sure how the flavor will be different, but we shall find out soon! Im looking forward to it. :D

Oh my God! If you only knew how much I love that kind of popcorn! I have actually bought that in Gourmet shops years and years ago and it just Delights the heck out of me to throw it in the microwave and watch it go! Of course having little kids really made it even better. They could really get on board with putting an ear of corn in and watching it pop.

I did not know that papa pepper had this kind of corn and I sure will be looking it up because I want some! Do you remember growing up how everybody would use this corn or I guess it was called Indian corn, to decorate their door for Thanksgiving. Or maybe that was just us? LOL thank you for bring us such a wonderful treat today and yes spring and summer are busy and yes it is always good to see you!

!tip

Awww thanks so much! ♥
Yes, I remember indian corn well! My grandma would grow it to decorate it and to sell it! I always wanted to eat it and my mom said no, because it doesnt taste great, apparently. It would make good cornmeal at least, though. Now that Im thinking about it, I think I need to try growing some of that next year!

I had to check to make sure he still has it for sale, (since it was months ago), but yep, he does!
https://homesteaderscoop.com/product/homegrown-popcorn-seeds/

Love buying on our homesteaders co-op!

Yes!!! The co-ops are great, but, I didn't realize he had it! Thank you!!!

Will they also be colourful popcorn? I guess not as the insides will be the same colour as normal ones? Or maybe not? I remember eating some of these coloured corns (and carrots) before, our food wholesaler stocks them... they are pretty tasty!

Unfortunately, no, the inside is still white. I told the kids it would be like that, but they were still hoping for rainbow popcorn. ;)

Huzzah! Popcorn requires a good movie to accompany it though. Any plans on that front?

Well, we watched Zorro last night, so that was fun. :D

Yes, that one! We enjoyed it! :D

Be sure to check out The Rocketeer and The Phantom for more '90s popcorn flicks!

Awesome, will do!

That is so funny, but it looks so good! I have never grown my own and yours are inspiring me to try.

Give it a try! Ours was having all kinds of issues, being blown down, attacked by bugs, but we STILL got a harvest! Gonna try popping today! :D

That sounds like fun, I may have to try some next year. ;-)

Oh yes that is some very pretty corn! I know what you mean about hating to eat it because it’s so pretty! That’s gonna be some great tasting popcorn!

They are to pretty to eat :-)

They kind of are, arent they? ;)

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.30
TRX 0.12
JST 0.033
BTC 64420.25
ETH 3150.23
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.99