GINAbot Development Updates

in #ginabot6 years ago (edited)

If you want notifications about what's happening on steem (and who doesn't?) you should try @ginabot's services, they're free! :)

@ginabot is a smart, detailed, and instant notification service for the STEEM blockchain. For a complete set of features, as well as instructions on how to get started, check out the last post:


Image by @kemane

Behind the Scenes

GINA is going to be a microservice app very soon which will allow for easy scalability as well as a smoother development of new features, and keeping existing ones up to date. This will reduce the stress on the RPC nodes I am connected to as GINA makes around a million calls every day to provide you with all the detailed notifications which you make use of.

I am currently learning RabbitMQ and Docker in order to make this happen. It is exciting to learn new things, especially since they will have big impact on how GINA works.

Moving forward, one step at a time.

Issues with notification

I have received a few complaints from active users that some notifications were missed recently. I want to assure everyone that I am aware and investigating the cause of this, and will fix the issue ASAP. I believe that moving to a microservices structure will fix this problem as well, so I can only ask you to be patient.

A Horror Story with a Happy Ending

Many users ask me, "why should I care for self-notifications?"" (When you upvote, comment, etc.) I always say that having options is better than not having them. Just because you don't need something, doesn't mean that someone else won't have a use for it.

My theory was confirmed a few days ago when @therosepatch's account got hacked and she started receiving unexpected comment and vote notifications for her account. Luckily, she was able to change her keys before the scammer did! If it weren't for GINA, it could have been worse!

Read the Full Story: HERE

IMPORTANT!!!

If you wish to receive notifications you must stay on the Minnow-Power Discord server and you must enable DM from server memebers! If you don't know what that is, don't worry, because it is turned on by default. Just make sure that you don't turn it off or GINA won't be able to message you anymore.

GINA is a free service but it still costs money to run the server, and a LOT of time to develop everything. In fact, I stopped working overtime so I can dedicate myself more to the project. If you feel that GINA is a valuable service and would like to make a donation, feel free to send some Steem or Sbd to @neander-squirrel.

Any Donation Big or Small is Appreciated!

Thank You!!!

Thank you very much to the following users who have made donations since the last post:
@beekerst, @therealwolf, @helpie, @leebaong, @ddrfr33k, @katierinaramm


Thank You for the following users who made donations since this post is live (the list is not updated automatically so there might be more):
@pennsif, @cryptosludge, @steemitri, @didutza, @incubot, @jeff-dawn, @beatitudes8, @lynncoyle1, @bashadow, @telasius, @crazybgadventure, @sumayyahsaidso, @indigoocean, @basicstoliving, @apanamamama, @madevi, @shawnamawna, @mitneb, @seablue, @mariannewest


Finally a Big Thank You to @inquiringtimes and @geekorner for helping with the Discord server, editing these posts, and everything else!

Sort:  

GINA is awesome! Couldn't imagine being on Steem without it :)

Gina is an excellent service buddy. It makes curation so very easy. Super stuff. Regards Nainaz.
#thealliance

Yes, @nainaztengra ginabot excellent service and fastest notification among other notifications apps. Do superb. Rid on gina

@ginabot is the essential Steemit tool, bravo mr @neander-squirrel!

I totally second that.

It would be so much more difficult to operate on steem/steemit without GINAbot now...

It is a time and efficiency multiplier of the first order.

It is a time and efficiency multiplier of the first order.

Absolutely. The mentions 'ping' is really useful - I've found new content and connections that way, which is what it's all about!

Thanks again @neander-squirrel! Great work!

@ginabot is really useful!

Great, I hope transition to microservice architecture will go smoothly for you. What programming language do you use, by the way? How much hardware do you need to follow the steem blockchain?

Thanks for the service, I find it very useful. Saves me the trouble of writing my own bot :)

Hi @laxam,
Yes, I hope too but it takes some time to figure out things and than apply them :)

GINA is written in javascript. To get the blocks is very simple, doesn't require anything really. At the beginning I provided the services from an android phone ':D

What is more expensive is to check the operations against users preferences. :/
Microservice architecture will enable me for example to spin up more workers if needed.

To hear the speech version of this post click the play image.

Brought to you by @tts. If you find it useful please consider upvote this reply.

It will grateful if i learn from You.how you do this...

Keep up the good work, I cannot wait to use this.

If every dev worked so hard on their Steemit related project Steem would be on the moon already. Gina is amazing! Thank you for your contribution to the platform. My vote is worth little so i hope you accept a sincire thank you, as my small donation. 😁❤

@ginabot If you need any help with Docker hit me up. I've been dockering applications full-time for work for the last 4 months or so.

Hi there,
Thanks for your offer, I would have a few questions :)
You're not registered with GINA so I couldn't found your Discord. Are you on?

Congratulations @ginabot, this post is the forth most rewarded post (based on pending payouts) in the last 12 hours written by a User account holder (accounts that hold between 0.1 and 1.0 Mega Vests). The total number of posts by User account holders during this period was 3501 and the total pending payments to posts in this category was $8897.92. To see the full list of highest paid posts across all accounts categories, click here.

If you do not wish to receive these messages in future, please reply stop to this comment.

Fourth. I know you don't care. I care. Every time I see it, my soul cringes, pees a little, and vomits a little bit into my spiritual mouth. Would it kill you to fix it? One letter?

I get it. It's a typo. I make one in every comment, probably. Thing is, I don't copy/paste those comments, so the visible life and impact of my typos is limited to that one conversation. This one... this gift keeps on giving. It's like the herpes.

You don't wanna give the herpes do you?

I couldn't imagine steemit without GINA anymore!

So many Kudos!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.26
TRX 0.11
JST 0.032
BTC 63510.75
ETH 3065.54
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.82