The BIG Seed Giveaway (time to get those hands dirty)

in #giveaway6 years ago

I have A LOT of veggie seeds and not nearly enough soil to garden them all. So, hello giveaway.
seed giveaway.jpg

To enter this (my first!) giveaway, leave a comment with your choices (one from each group). Or if you want a surprise pack, let me know (it'll be random seeds from those listed below. Not sure about the types? Google 'em!) That's it! Resteems and upvotes are deeply appreciated but not required. If less than 10 people enter, then those 10 people win seeds. If more than ten enter, then it'll be a random selection of 10 winners.

IMG_0060.jpg

CAVEATS:

  • I have more of some seeds than others. If many people want the same type, the 10 winners will split the seeds I have. So, you may get a couple (enough to grow seed for next year's garden) or more than a couple.
  • Once in the mail, it's out of my hands.
  • Not all seeds are guaranteed to germinate (herbs are notorious for being fickle) or do well in your area.
  • Giveaway open to US citizens only (I'm sorry! But if there was a way to ship things internationally with little hassle and little cost, I'd be all for it.)

tomatoes.jpg

Ready to get your garden on?

GROUP 1

  • Pea (Little Marvel)
  • Pea (Alaska)
  • Green Bean (Blue Lake 274)
  • Green Bean (Contender)
  • Green Bean (Tendergreen improved)
  • Bean (Cherokee Wax | Yellow bush bean)

GROUP 2

  • Cucumber (Straight 8)
  • Summer Squash (Fordhook Zucchini)
  • Summer Squash (Yellow Crookneck)
  • Tomato (Delicious)
  • Tomato (Large Red Cherry)
  • Sweet Corn (Triple Crown Yellow)

GROUP 3

  • Pepper (Hungarian Yellow Wax)
  • Onion (White Lisbon Bunching)
  • Kohlrabi (Early White Vienna)
  • Brussels Sprouts (Mighty hybrid)
  • Radish (Sparkler White Tip)
  • Beet (Detroit Dark Red)
  • Kale (Dwarf Blue Curly Vates)
  • Broccoli (Calabrese)

GROUP 4

  • Lettuce (Iceberg)
  • Lettuce (Parris Island Cos)
  • Lettuce (Grand Rapids Leaf)
  • Spinach (Bloomsdale)
  • Cilantro
  • Sunflower (Mammoth Russian)

GROUP 5

  • Bean (Pinto)
  • Bean (Black Turtle)
  • Winter Squash (Waltham Butternut)
  • Winter Squash (Spaghetti)
  • Winter Squash (Table Queen Anne)
  • Basil (Sweet Genovese)
  • Dill (Long Island Mammoth)
  • Sage (Common culinary)
  • Thyme (Common culinary)

Thank you for reading (and hopefully participating)!

Sort:  

Cool! We were just talking about how THIS is the year to start a vegetable garden! Whether I win or not, this is a great idea and love that you're doing it. I like either Group 3 or 4. Good luck with YOUR garden.

I'm glad you want to enter, but please double check how it plays out ("To enter this (my first!) giveaway, leave a comment with your choices (one from each group). Or if you want a surprise pack, let me know").

Thank you!

I would love a surprise pack! These are all things that grow reasonably well in my area and most of them are things I really enjoy eating, so please! Count me in!

I'll pass on the giveaway but I'll resteem to get the word out! I love seed giveaways and really appreciate how people come together to support one another on Steemit!

BTW I just wanted to let you know that I linked and mentioned this article with proper accreditation in my most recent post! Hopefully it helps you get some exposure! Have a good Sunday!

I love seed giveaways, so I am in.
Pea (Alaska)
Tomato (Delicious)
Pepper (Hungarian Yellow Wax)
Sunflower (Mammoth Russian)
Bean (Pinto)
Upvoted and Resteemed!

Upvoted and resteemed! Such a great thing you are doing.

Group 1 - doesn't matter, just whatever you have the most of as I will end up giving them to someone else.
Group 2 - Tomato (Large Red Cherry)
Group 3 - Onion (White Lisbon Bunching)
Group 4 - Lettuce (Grand Rapids Leaf)
Group 5 - Winter Squash (Spaghetti)

Thanks again for the opportunity!

Upvoted and resteemed for your kind offer. Personally, I am taking a year off. I have busted my ass for years now, and between drought, heat, wind, late freezes, grasshoppers, voles, birds, bugs, even my cows and chickens, I am SICK OF GARDENING. Not forever, but I am taking a year off. When I do another garden, it will be in a greenhouse, I am DONE fighting the elements around here. If I sound a little angry, I am. I LOVE to garden, but since we moved out here I have not had one good harvest. Work and work and work and then go buy the stuff I need because some animal ate it before I could... Yep, taking a year off. Maybe next year I will have my sense of humor back...

The grasshoppers, voles, birds, bugs, chickens, and cows say, "Don't give up! We love you!" :) My arch nemesis is the slug. I feel your pain. Enjoy your summer!!!

Oh yeah, them too! LOL! Thank you! I fully intend to!

Have you tried coyote urine? One can buy it, spray around the garden and it scares critters away. https://www.amazon.com/Pete-Rickards-Coyote-Hunting-8-Ounce/dp/B00C9DKMUY
If you've tried it already, my bad. I've just heard glowing things about its ability.

Hugelculture could maybe help with next year's garden. It creates a garden area that acts as a sponge. Saw a great article about how a tomato plant went a year without watering. I've built my own and they do extend the growing season by staying warm as the underlayer composts. https://richsoil.com/hugelkultur/

Well, when you get your gardening groove back, I hope you have an excellent harvest!

Honey, I've been around the gardening block. I've made Sepp Holzer's been sauce, I have actual coyotes peeing around my land so scratch that idea... I just need to step back, regroup, and get infrastructure completed before I do anything else. I am getting too old to do everything the hard way lol!

Sepp Holzer books are definitely a great recommendation for someone, who would like to have a little helper in gardening. Thanks, dear @fishyculture for remembering me on it 😊

GREAT! Love when more people are involved in seed giveways!

  • Bean (Cherokee Wax | Yellow bush bean)
  • Cucumber (Straight 8)
  • Brussels Sprouts (Mighty hybrid)
  • Sunflower (Mammoth Russian)
  • Bean (Pinto)

GOOD LUCK to all who enter!

Resteemed for you too!

Great way to share!
Thank you
Group 1 - peas or green beans
Group 2 - cucumber
Group 3 - beet
Group 4 - sunflower or cilantro
Group 5 - dill

Up voting and resteeming
Thanks again!

Excellent idea!

I've given away a lot of seeds to other steemians! Way to go!

This is a really cool idea :) Though yeh trying to post those things can be a pain!

goatsig

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.28
TRX 0.12
JST 0.033
BTC 70013.82
ETH 3766.83
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.80