Giving does not decrease wealth

in #giving5 years ago

We live in a world where people are living in various geographies with various backgrounds. We all grow up with the culture, manners, beliefs taught us by our parents or people who cared for us. This definitely has an impact on the person who we become, although that’s not what defines us in the end. I think that we grow up with everything we see and experience but in the end it is our actions and reactions, how we deal with things we experience forms who we are.

Life is a very long journey in which we need to search for who we are, why we think the way we think, get to know our weaknesses, strengths...

I am raised with a certain sense of empathy. We were not rich, not poor either. But we had a lot of people around us who had less. Maybe this is something my parents brought to me, but I think this is also something I choose for. Thinking about others. Family, friends, people I don’t know who live far away but don’t have enough income for the very basic needs.

I still remember the feeling I had, when I went to a mosque with my father in an early morning where he put some money in my hands to give to the mosque at the end of the prayer. It felt good. The mosque was a place of coming together. It had basic needs like decent carpets, electricity costs, and people who were teaching us the basics of the religion when we were kids. I knew the money went to a good place and it felt good. I felt the same feeling when helping people in need whenever I could.

This post is not about any religion or any specific background. I just wanted to share the feeling. Since my childhood I try to look around me. if there is an opportunity to mean something for someone, I try to take the opportunity. This feeling is not about “Look how wealthy I am, and I choose to help”. It is about trying to be good. There is a saying: “Do not let your left hand know what your right hand is doing, so that your giving may be in secret”. I try to apply this in my life.

Don’t you ever think about giving to others will decrease your wealth. I experienced the opposite a lot of times. Giving and trying to make a contribution makes me feel good, feel happy.

Nobody wants to be dependent on someone. Nobody wants to ask something from anyone unless they have to. It is the place, time, circumstances we live in where we need to make a choice. Choose to be good. Try to live a good honorable life. That is what I will try to do until the end we all will face.

Posted using Partiko iOS

Sort:  

Thank you so much for being an awesome Partiko user! You have received a 17.36% upvote from us for your 3555 Partiko Points! Together, let's change the world!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.30
TRX 0.12
JST 0.034
BTC 64058.80
ETH 3150.15
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.99