GMAT QueststeemCreated with Sketch.

in #gmat8 years ago (edited)

NEW DISCLAIMER:- Also, I wrote this post early this year on my blog "www.gauravbhushan.com" but a friend referred me to join steemit.com so, I'm using that blog to gain some steem karma :)
Link:- http://www.gauravbhushan.com/2016/02/gmat-quest.html

Disclaimer:- I'm a Male Indian Professional, having done my Masters in Electrical Engineering with a software development background of 5+ years, living in Bay Area. If you spot any VERBAL errors, please tell me, I don't want to lose that skill!

What's so great about GMAT preparation:-

  • you'll learn to be proactive
  • learn some pretty quick math and improve grammar
  • it'll push you to give back something to society OR volunteer
  • learn to be creative with applications

My reason:-

I've been enjoying being part of the Internet of Things (IoT) industry for a few years (software development role). To be more involved, I want to learn the skills of managing a business, especially a futuristic business that involves connecting an entire home through small electronic devices.

Minor ramblings:-

  • Overrepresentation: Apparently B-schools get a lot of applications from MITs:- male indian techies. Go figure!
  • Visa restrictions: By the time I get into a school, I would've exhausted 3/6 years of my H1B. I haven't applied for a Green Card because I do imagine moving to India after working for a few years after school. Also, GC application is an intent to settle in this country and might present a problem with F1 visa stamping at the embassy. A lot of H1B holders who go into business schools, graduate with just a year or two left on their visa, which can be risky if you want to apply for GC.
  • PLANNING nightmare: During my GMAT and essay prep I didn't realize how much preparation a premier business school application involves. So for all the readers, I can't stress this more but PLAN AHEAD!

My timeline:-

Jan-March 2015
study for GMAT test (source: Kaplan's book Link:-http://amzn.com/1625231350)
(MISTAKE 1)

March-end
Scored 610 (Q:46; V: tanked)

end of April - June 2015
Manhattan prep group class
(MISTAKE 2)

July 2015
Attended 1st ever business school presentations (VERY USEFUL!)
final GMAC practice test: 690

early August 2015
2nd attempt Score: 620 (KMN)

September 2015
One last try:- 3rd attempt Score: 690

October 2015
brainstorm and go through this book:- http://amzn.com/1937707377

November 2015
submit TWO round 2 applications

December 2015
sometimes things won't work out

January 2016
finished submissions

Mistakes during timeline

  1. Jumped right into it without any research and evaluating timeline
  2. When I got a bad score, I should've taken a few days break and gotten back into thick of things. Cultivating good verbal skills takes time and a lot of Round 1 applications creep up quick!

Afterthoughts:-

  • B-school presentations:- These are an eye-opener. I got to meet a variety of AdCom (Admission Committee) members of premier schools and ambitious prospective students. Doing this definitely helped me focus harder on the goal at hand: taming GMAT!

  • fuck up of August 2015:- i didn't carry my passport during the 1st test and had no issues. During the 2nd attempt, the center asked for my passport, so I had to go back home and get my passport during the worst commute hours and that definitely took its toll on my nerves.

  • September 2015:- not giving up, I started preparing for 3rd attempt. I knew I had to skills, just needed to calm my nerves. I took the test and scored 690, which was somewhat disappointing since I knew my level was >720.
    out of time:- well after 3rd attempt, I was running short on time to work on my essays. So I started doing that and contended with my 690.

  • December 2015:- This is how I ended my last month of the year

    • went home to India
    • fell sick (christmas eve and New Year's were both spent in bed)
    • couldn't work on finishing or giving final touches to applications
    • got frustrated
  • TIPS:

  • GMAT Roadmap: If anything, purchase Manhattan Prep GMAT set OR get GMAT Roadmap as it has stories and tips on improving scores.

  • RESEARCH

    • WHY MBA?: Find out the answer sooner the better, you'll need it for the Essays.
    • focus on schools related to industry you want to get into
      • Most popular schools on East Coast are best for getting into finance industry, so do
    • if you have the dough and time:-
      • take a class AND more importantly make a study group
    • flash cards:- probably the best way to learn any skill and I started too late
      • easy questions first
      • mix with medium questions
  • mba applications

    • ESSAYS! These will drive anyone crazy! Start as soon as possible!
    • Either get professional help with evaluating essays, but if DIY get the following book by Jeremy Shinewald
    • Try to figure out what's your profile. Again these are my 2 cents, use your own judgement!
Sort:  

Hey, do you have any social media? I have few question about GMAT


@confusedlot, sorry to see you have less Steem Power.
Your level lowered and you are now a Red Fish!

Do not miss the last post from @steemitboard!


Participate in the SteemitBoard World Cup Contest!
Collect World Cup badges and win free SBD
Support the Gold Sponsors of the contest: @good-karma and @lukestokes


Do you like SteemitBoard's project? Then Vote for its witness and get one more award!

Congratulations @confusedlot! You received a personal award!

Happy Birthday! - You are on the Steem blockchain for 3 years!

You can view your badges on your Steem Board and compare to others on the Steem Ranking

Vote for @Steemitboard as a witness to get one more award and increased upvotes!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.28
TRX 0.12
JST 0.032
BTC 66739.81
ETH 3087.19
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.73