You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: Week 47: The Big Picture and The Little Picture

in #goals5 years ago

Your journey has been encouraging. As for me, I'm looking forward to retirement in 2020, so my next year will be spent figuring out where we want to live then. My wife and I are planning to make short trips to different areas to try them on for size. That, and continuing to try to get finances in order for retirement.

Sort:  

Only one more year of work, that’s great! Congratulations!!!

Trying to decide where to live will be a big decision. You don’t have any ties to where you are living now? Any chance you’ll be coming back to Japan for a bit? I just saw a video on Facebook today about how many municipalities are either selling abandoned houses here dirt cheap or are giving them away. Of course, having seen quite a few of them, I don’t know that a lot of them would be worth it even at no price, but if you wanted an old, free home for summers, you could probably find something.

If you have any tricks or tips for getting your finances in order, let me know. That’s on my list too.

Unfortunately, I won't be able to retire until late in 2020. We're aiming for 10/31, which puts me about 100 weeks away.

We both grew up in SoCal and my parents and sisters are here, as well as some of my wife's family. We have kids and grandkids here, so we'd like to stay close by.

We're considering Nevada because there's no state income tax and it's a close drive to SoCal. We just know we can't afford California in retirement.

We do have a house in Colorado, but my wife's not too keen on the weather there, or the way her allergies acted last time we were there.

I'm looking into the financial thing in ways that may not be important to someone in Japan. There are apparently bills in Congress to do away with Federal Reserve Notes and create United States Money; a way for the US to shed its debt that would profoundly affect anyone holding dollars. Could all be a conspiracy theory, but I'm gonna take a look at some of the info out there.

That’s unfortunate that you can’t afford to stay where you are. I hope you find soneplace nice to settle. Have you thought about what you want to do in retirement?

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.29
TRX 0.12
JST 0.032
BTC 59504.00
ETH 2984.44
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.74