Image of God

in #god7 years ago (edited)

I was sitting In Church a couple of weeks ago and I spent some time trying to imagine God seated on His throne in Heaven. I couldn't even come up with one image. I fell to my knees in that moment and said, "God You are Great! Even in my thoughts I cannot reach You!" I remembered 1 Timothy 6:16 which says that

“[God] alone possesses immortality and dwells in unapproachable light, whom no man has seen or can see. To Him be honor and eternal dominion! Amen."

Also I remembered that the bible also says in Psalm 18:11

He made darkness his secret place; his pavilion round about him were dark waters and thick clouds of the skies

So God you trying to tell me that you dwell in unapproachable light, AND you make darkness your secret place? This really messed me up because I realized that my transcendential mind was puny when set to the task of pursuing a glimpse of His image. Basically Even my imagination, however wild it may be, cannot reach Him. Can you imagine how elusively his power evades all understanding. God dwells in unapproachable light...

I got even more messed up when I realized that even in the face of revelation I remained perplexed and nonplussed. That the more I learn about God, the further I get from approximating an image of Him in my mind's eye basically the more knowledge of God I get, the less I know.

I say all of that to say this... To know something intellectually means a certain dependence on your own power/understanding... a sort of self reliance.

When you grow more intimate with God, you lose that implicitly egocentric tendency of reason. Because your reasoning limits what you consider possible to fl’t the puny frame in which your mind has developed... There is no imagining God. You can't use your mind to reign Him in...He is not confined to our puny ways of reasoning.

So what is it today that you are making out to be bigger than your God? Today I challenge you to take that leap and begin to Know your God on a new level. Know that if you can fathom the size of your problem, the One that you cannot fathom is definitely greater!

God is Great!

Sort:  

Yup God is great.:)

Jesus also said, in John 14:9(b)
Anyone who has seen me has seen the Father.

Technically you CAN see God.

And when Christ is in you (and you in Him), and the Holy Spirit dwells in you, you can see HIM through you, every day, more and more, from glory to glory; refined, and sanctified.
upvoted
ps: try use #christian-trail if you want a larger Christian audience.

Well said!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.28
TRX 0.13
JST 0.032
BTC 65992.78
ETH 3014.98
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.75