Grandma's Prayer @senseicat

in #god6 years ago

My adopted grandma was a my inspiration. She lived to 103.5 years and led a simple life. She never learned to drive a car. When growing up, I would visit her on Sunday evenings. Our family would watch 60 minutes while eating passable take out chow mein. Grandma was known for baking cinnamon rolls and we would often have for dessert heated up with gobs of butter. What I remember most of her is her quiet and peaceful nature so visiting her was a special treat.

In all the years, I never heard her once complain. I once remember her suggesting to my mom to consider wearing a skirt instead of shorts and my mom protested, that it is hard to mow the lawn with a skirt. By the way, this conversation took place 40 years ago.

In the evenings, she would play the piano and she taught me how to sing Jesus Loves me when I was beginning to learn English. We sang How Great Thou Art. We sang Jesus Loves The Little Children.

pic2.jpg

When grandma passed, my mom said that I was so close to her, and asked me to give her eulogy at her memorial. I am very quiet by nature and in a moment of treasured silence, it came to me. I read this poem in her memory because I remembered that she had written it on a piece of paper and kept it in her pocket during her cancer treatments.

Being kind, gentle, sincere, soft-spoken, spiritual are gifts that are immeasurable @senseicat

Sort:  

I can appreciate your grandma's words of wisdom. As well many others, thanks!

touching story. you have a very great grandmother @ senseicat

Amazing story. Really heart warming and I'm sure she's singing withe angels in heaven. Bless you and your family. We'll join her one day celebrating life and all the memories of earth as well. Glory to Jesus.

When my dad past away when I was 3 and my mom used to go for work but my grandma used to take care of me and made my childwood so awesome and i never felt hungry and she used to give me pocket money everyday when she past away i felt really sad but I always follow her foot steps
Be humble
Be honest
Be kind
Speak the truth..
Thank you @sensicat for emotional post..
And i resteemed it.

Thank you for sharing your touching story and resteem very much appreciated.

Very heart touching story.
Upvote
Resteem
Your post

Heart touching.
Resteem your post.

Jesus Christ is Lord and King!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.28
TRX 0.13
JST 0.032
BTC 60991.61
ETH 2921.47
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.56