My quest in becoming a top producing South African Bee Farmer, Step 2

Hey everyone, ever since moving I have had this 'calling' if you will, to produce honey, by the ton. Bee farmers and bees I feel contribute positively to the environment more than they will ever know and are given credit for and I want to be a part of it, needless to say you get one of the worlds best super foods that literally lasts forever!

Yesterday we visited an annual event just up the road (check out my last post for more of that) that is all about sustainability, clean green, farming off-gridding etc.

I was lucky enough to find exactly what I was after, a bee farmer who had been in the trade for over 20 years, I hit the proverbial honey pot on this one, excuse the ambiguity ;)

20180811_141336.jpg

20180811_141300.jpg

This chap I shall be visiting again soon for supplies he does everything one needs for beekeeping, for now we have a few hives, but what will be needed still are wax strips for inside the hives, a smoker, spinner, bee suit and a little more advice so, pick his brain we shall. He sells hives at R700 which really is not bad at all considering you will now have free honey for life, what a bargain!

20180811_141307.jpg

I learnt some rather interesting things too, he tells me that that Queen Bee lays around 2000 eggs per day and the average life span of a bee is only around 40 days, rather sad if you think about it, they literally work themselves to death, a less selfish animal does not exist, truly incredible creatures indeed.

20180811_141339.jpg

20180811_141524.jpg

Be sure to keep checking in, I shall be doing regular updates on my Bee-keeping jourey, this week I plan to harvest some honey and film doing so, that promises to be incredible I shall be posting video's and still pics of all the action, be sure to check in for that.

Have a super Sunday
Cheer$;)

Sort:  

More than just contribute to the environment @craigcryptoking. They are essential to the survival of mankind! Albert Einstein said that "“If the bee disappeared off the face of the Earth, man would only have four years left to live" Did you know that one little worker bee in her short life makes no more than half a teaspoon of honey. That's a sobering thought when spinning kg's of the liquid gold. Looking forward to your bee business. You will be the best beekeeper ever

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.30
TRX 0.12
JST 0.034
BTC 63688.35
ETH 3125.30
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.97