DAFFODILS- BULB SEPARATION YIELDS LOTS MORE #gogreenbuddy

in #gogreenbuddy5 years ago

Daffodils are one of my favorite flowers, the best part about them is that they are early bloomers. We have a lot of them around our farm. I first planted them back at least a dozen years ago. Over that time frame I have dug up chucks of them to separate the baby bulbs from the mature ones. It is amazing how many more flowers you can get.

IMG_3147.JPG

About a month ago I decided it was time to dig some up and see if I could separate out some new bulbs to plant into another little garden I was working on.

IMG_3103.JPG

This cluster had bloomed about a dozen flowers, after I dug it up and separated the bulbs, I ended up with 52 new bulbs.

IMG_3106.JPG

I was thrilled to see so many, but then I realized, now I've got to plant 52 new bulbs. Oh boy ! But then my hubby @thebigsweed, said he had an easy way. Just by using a digging bar he was able to just punch holes in the ground the perfect size to insert a bulb. I added some compost rich soil on top, done.

IMG_3104.JPG

I was able to plant all 52 bulbs in about an hour or so. Added bonus, some nice fat worms to feed to the bass in our pond.

IMG_3105.JPG

By next spring we should see some new daffodils, in new places, at the farm.

IMG_3088.JPG

So pretty...

IMG_2896.JPG

IMG_3758.JPG

Enjoy!!!

Sort:  

Congratulations @farm-mom! You have completed the following achievement on the Steem blockchain and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

You distributed more than 500 upvotes. Your next target is to reach 600 upvotes.
You got more than 500 replies. Your next target is to reach 600 replies.

You can view your badges on your Steem Board and compare to others on the Steem Ranking
If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

To support your work, I also upvoted your post!

You can upvote this notification to help all Steem users. Learn how here!

It is nice process many more flowers you can get and I really enjoy your last photo.

Hello there, thanks for stopping by, glad you enjoyed it.

Daffodils are one of my favourite flowers @farm-mom Their fragrance is sublime and I agree that we must 'Take Time To Smell the Flowers.

Hello there @trudeehunter, been so busy working outside, family visits etc.. Hope you are well, Daffodils are so beautiful and they grow so well here in Upstate NY. It's amazing to see how many more they produce after a few years. That little stepping stone was a mother's day gift from my son and his family...I love it! Enjoy your day.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.30
TRX 0.12
JST 0.034
BTC 64231.88
ETH 3128.59
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.95