Gold Prospecting 101 - Basic Gold Panning Technique

in #gold5 years ago

gold panning cover.png

Hello and welcome to the first episode of my new

Gold Prospecting 101 series!

156322_524485000915976_1769583356_n.jpg

My name is Derek Richardson and I've been prospecting here in California for over six years now. It's safe to say I got GOLD FEVER! In this series I'm gonna share some of what I've learned over the years and hopefully you can give it a try too! When you see how much fun it can be you just might catch the gold fever yourself!!

mountaindivider.jpg

In this video I'm going to go over the very basics of gold panning. There's a bunch of styles and different techniques used in gold panning. And different types of dirt can change the way you want to pan. But I'll go more into that kinda stuff in a future video. Here I show you the basic principles in gold panning. Classifying the material, saturating the material, shaking and liquifying the material, washing the material, re-liquifying and re-washing, and then cleaning your black sands and gold. The one thing to remember in all these lessons is that gold is HEAVY! In fact gold is 19 times heavier than water and that heaviness is a key to identifying gold bearing material as well as a key to extracting that gold from the material. So here we go... episode 1... lets get panning!

Basic Gold Panning Technique

Like I said in the video if you have any questions please do ask! I know I skipped over a lot of details in this video. I hope to get more detailed and hopefully improve my video production as this series progresses.

mountaindivider.jpg

heavypans.png

#prospecting101

all photos by @derekrichardson

CMA banner3.jpg

https://www.californiamountainadventure.com
Contact me on Discord

mountaindivider.jpg

#SoCalSteemit is building and supporting the Steemit community of Southern California. If you are from SoCal and are into creating quality content here on Steemit, we'd love for you to follow us @SoCalSteemit and join our group on Discord

SoCal divider.jpg

PHC-Footer-05.gif
Animation By @zord189

Power House Creatives Logos FINAL.png

Dividerbar.jpg

WorldMap banner.jpg

Dividerbar.jpg

canna-curate-banner1a.jpg

Dividerbar.jpg

DQmXa3zVXJVYtacu5692MePMJTj35yZX7LKub8WUR4c91Mt.png

Dividerbar.jpg

Gifbanner.gif

Sort:  

I've never panned for gold. However, I did find some stolen gold during a mission.

Funny thing about gold. The more I held it, the more difficult it was to turn in!

Nice post.

Namaste, JaiChai

Thanks @jaichai! That's the gold fever. It's definitely a real thing. The more I find the more I want to dig!

Man. I've got the gold itch sooooo bad. And this did me in!!!

Posted using Partiko Android

Gold Fever!! lol.

The only thing I know is the gold rush in the 19th century. It was interested to know a little more))) Thank you!

My pleasure. A lot of people think the old timers got all the gold, but actually the huge majority of it is still out there in the mountains waiting to be found!

Wait to make it look easy

Panning is easy! It's the digging that's the hard part. lol.

Panning is easy. Its finding anything that's hard

Yep. There can be so many factors that go into finding where the gold is concentrated it can be like solving a puzzle sometimes. But that's a big part of the fun!

Great video.... I actually did a little prospecting with the kids once. Fun but hard work 😓

Posted using Partiko iOS

Thanks @streetstyle! I think it's a great activity for the kids. Get 'em out in the mountains breathing that fresh air, playing around in the river. It's fun and healthy. And yes, it is hard work... but that's healthy too! lol.

You’re giving me gold fever. We need to plan a SoCal Steemit meetup this Spring to pan for gold :-)

Haha nice! The fever is real. I've had a few people say they'd be interested in a meetup up on the river. So I'll have to get that planned! We can dig all morning and then have a little bbq/picnic in the afternoon. I got plenty of extra gear that people could use. We can do some panning as well as get the sluice box running so we can find a decent bit of gold.

We’re in! Looking forward to it.

Greetings from Holland! I have still on my to do list going to a place where I can pan (recreatively) and my wife can horse ride (organized) in the West of the USA. I will watch the vid although I have seen soem already,

Greetings! There is a bunch of places in the western Sierra Nevada mountains here in California where you can find both recreational prospecting areas as well as equestrian recreation!

This reminded me of the series that I used to watch. Gold rush haha. Thank you so much for sharing us these techniques. Have a great day!

You're most welcome. I'm glad you enjoyed it!

Good stuff. My only question is: when can I join you on the East Fork for some prospecting?!

The river is raging right now after all these rains, but we'll definitely have to plan a meetup/prospecting trip up there sometime soon!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.30
TRX 0.12
JST 0.033
BTC 64420.25
ETH 3150.23
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.99