Glorious Splendor, in the sky over Singapore – GoldenHour Photography

in #goldenhourphotography6 years ago (edited)
This is my entry in the GoldenHourPhotography contest by @juliank.


[Click Here to Enlarge Photo]

In the heart of the thriving metropolis of Singapore, I did not often get to see great sunsets. If a sunset happened to light up the sky, the view was usually hidden behind the many skyscrapers that form the city's skyline.   

Reflected glory 

On this particular evening, however, it did not matter. The brilliant rays of the distant sun were reflected in the clouds directly above the city, creating a golden hour of glorious splendor, right in my backyard.  

How to Enlarge Photos / Images – in 13 easy steps

Sort:  

World of Photography Beta V1.0
>Learn more here<

Thank you for participating in #goldenhourphotography

You have earned 5.90 XP for sharing your photo!

Daily Stats
Daily photos: 1/2
Daily comments: 0/5
Multiplier: 1.18
Server time: 09:17:59
Account Level: 2
Total XP: 344.69/400.00
Total Photos: 36
Total comments: 92
Total contest wins: 1
And have also received a 0.68 percent upvote.

Follow: @photocontests
Join the Discord channel: click!
Play and win SBD: @fairlotto
Daily Steem Statistics: @dailysteemreport
Learn how to program Steem-Python applications: @steempytutorials
Developed and sponsored by: @juliank

On this particular evening, however, it did not matter. The brilliant rays of the distant sun were reflected in the clouds directly above the city, creating a golden hour of glorious splendor, right in my backyard.

Fine description, brilliant shot. Often times, I have to read and reread your descriptions to help me improve my own descriptions too in my writings. This said, it is surprising, for me, that you have to go through much struggle in order to capture the sprawling sky -- the torture of living in metropolitan cities.

Keep reading and rereading. For me, as a writer, editor, and teacher of the English language, writing is a craft, which takes discipline and lots of time. I'm glad that you look to my writing as examples from which you can learn.

Below are 4 essential steps to carry out when learning to write.

Read. Read lots. Read various types of text.
Write. Rewrite. Read your writing to find words, phrases, and sentences that do no sound right. Rewrite them.
Edit. This involves rereading and rewriting. Over and over again.
Repeat, ad infinitum.

Your admonitions are well received. Thank you sir.

For you, my friend, those are not admonitions! For an honor(able) student such as you, that is simply guidance, offered with the realization that you will take those instructions to heart.

I surely will. Thanks a lot.

A very beautiful photo, despite the wires, from which it is so difficult to escape, they are everywhere pursuing us. I, too, rarely see sunsets through multi-storey houses that close the horizon line.

Очень красивое фото, несмотря на провода, от которых так трудно убежать, они везде нас преследуют. Я, тоже, редко вижу закаты через многоэтажные дома, которые закрывают линию горизонта.

I'm not pleased that you noticed the wires!! Of course, I could not avoid them, and I even cropped out a few inches of wire from the photo.

But at least this photo still gets complimented as being "very beautiful." Thanks!

If it makes you feel better, I didn't notice the wires. Then I scrolled back up to look...but I don't think they make the pic look worse at all. I should take a picture of the wires here in Chiang Mai. Now THAT would destroy a photo. Your lil' wires just add to the nice city look. I really hope I remember to take a picture of wires before I leave for Malaysia tomorrow.

You're right, those wires in Singapore are rather unobtrusive. In a way, they simply state.... "p.s. This beautiful scene is in a city."

In fact, I've taken several photos of the jumbles of wires here in Chiang Mai. They are all horrible, and I will not post any of them on Steemit. ☺

I see you're a regular presence in this contest! Were you lucky enough to win already? If so, how many times? :D

I think I may have won a 3rd place ... once. But I don't really expect to win against all the professional photographers.

I'm just pleased to have other people view my snapshots, and to earn a few SBD as a bonus.

Also, the more photos I upload, the more followers I attract. ☺

Yeah, plus you're getting reeeeeeal close to that rep level 60 :D

Inching closer. I was surprised to see that I had hit 59. Onwards, to 60 and above, where I'll join you and others in that stratosphere.

Same! That's how I feel! I enter contests knowing there's no way I'll win against professional people...but it's still nice to know that even 1 or 2 people appreciate it. For some reason, it's just a basic human desire to be appreciated. So, even 1 or 2 nice comments make it all worth it for me.

I like seeing your photography... professional or not. You captured a unique sunset with this one! The way the color is concentrated on the upper cloud makes it stand out.

Your street photography is still my favorite, though, because it seems to tell a story without even needing any words, which is so powerful.

..glorious orange!
...a nice way to wrapped up the day,seen one earlier sir @majes.tytyty,a very orange sunset but unfortunately wasn't able to capture it.

Don't let the next one get away!!

Wow perfect, crazy, cool, really fascinating me. Nice shot, you do with a calm heart so that your photos take to be beautiful, really impressive. Good luck.

Your picture is splendid. May I suggest my humble work on the subject https://steemit.com/photography/@zipity/crepuscules-clouds-3 ?

Humble? C'est tres magnifique. (Excuse my spelling)

great shots what a perfect timing thanks for disclosing the beauty of the nature.

Woow its so nice and beautiful as it looks like fire in the clouds Thanks for sharing this beautiful photography you selection for this challenge is so nice i wish you all the best for this keep it up

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.28
TRX 0.13
JST 0.032
BTC 60938.63
ETH 2918.31
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.67