Retro Fashion at Goodwood Revival

in #goodwood7 years ago

A classic car festival, And a fashion event? Goodwood Revival is literally an event not to be missed. I wondered before I got there if it was true that nearly everyone dressed up, and until you have seen it with your own eyes, it really doesn’t compute. On arrival, I looked around, and as far as the eye could see, there were people from every era – every decade – since motor cars were mass produced. It was glorious.
IMG_8973.JPG
Having attended Goodwood Festival of Speed earlier this year, I was aware at the sheer scope of the arena I was now in, yet unprepared at how much of an effort was made to dress authentically, especially as these were three race days. Everywhere I looked there were all of these fantastic outfits: dresses, furs, hats, gloves, handbags, cravats – you name it.
IMG_8972.JPG
The crowning glory (please pardon the pun) was Betty’s Hair Salon – yes, that’s right, even the stalls and shops were dressed up from a previous decade. I looked again and saw retro fuel stops, old fashioned diners, there was even a WWII mess tent for the press to work from.

Goodwood Revival pays homage to classic automobiles and aircraft, and the time period in which they were created. The attention to detail is astounding, and I’m sure that I would need another few days to actually see all that there was to see. It is the place to be if you wish to immerse yourself in all things automotive, all things retro and all things fashion.

Sort:  

good photo

Thank you leomichael - we think it captures the essence of Revival.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.28
TRX 0.13
JST 0.032
BTC 60991.61
ETH 2921.47
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.56