You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: Google Knows All About You Even If You Don't Use It's Products

in #google5 years ago

This is why I turn the data/WiFi ON on my phone only so long as I'm using it for browsing, chatting, streaming etc because one never knows what info from one's idle phone Google might be collecting and sending over the internet to their servers. If suppose the data is on and someone calls me, I don't receive the call, rather I first turn the data OFF and then call back the person hehe. There's always this thing in my head that Google will record everything I talk if it has an internet connection to its server.

Sort:  

It's funny, at one point I noticed a little "location data from GPS' on a google search so I turned the GPS off and then it was like "location data from wifi" but even if you turn that off you can be tracked by cell towers.

Cell tower tracking can only give away your location. I personally am not much worried about my location but rather about the things I text, who I communicate with, what do I search, what do I browse etc that have a great potential to be misused.

That's an easy enough fix with burner phones, I also use duck duck go and firefox to stay off the google grid.

But you know what, my mobile data is off most of the time and yet, when I am somewhere where some music is being played in the background , my phone catches that and show me the name of the song. So I assume we are being recorded all the time, irrespective of our data being on/off !

Yikes, that's pretty weird. Never heard of such a thing before.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.29
TRX 0.12
JST 0.032
BTC 62971.67
ETH 3050.33
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.96