A place where everyone knows what government surveillance really means.

in #government5 years ago

This story was written by my friend from the unrecognized Donetsk People's Republic, which was formed as a result of the military conflict in the South-East of Ukraine:

Human is the core value, right? The Constitution will not lie. But there are things that are not covered in the mass media. These things are not discussed at the Forums on Human Rights and Freedoms, and certainly, government officials do not take blame for them.

I am one of a million residents of Donetsk. If we omit the political, moral and ethical issues, then both the territory and its residents have virtually no status. Total state control, coupled with mitigating individual interests and a continuous threat to life and health, serve as a good example of how it should not be in the 21st century.

For 5 and a half years, the Republic has been under curfew. Without a special pass you cannot walk around the city from 10 pm to 5 am (from 11 pm to 4 am in the summertime). The probability of being arrested and interrogated in special structures is very high. Moreover, there is no way to call home and warn that you are alive and well.

Do they release? More often than not. I have not been held for more than two days. At the same time, there is still third shift at work, but this argument is not always paid attention to. It is virtually impossible to call a taxi at night. Officially, there is no such service. Ambulance remains the only option to get to the maternity hospital or emergency room.

The "stay-out-late" youth have no chance. One can only hope for luck, and try to slip home through the yards. After 7-8 pm the public transport does not go in the dormitory suburbs of the city. And the pattern is clearly in evidence: the farther to go, the less frequent transport routes. The main argument for such total control is the safety of residents. Hard to believe, but the sensational killings of local heroes occurred in broad day-light and in crowded places.

When I come to the mainland, I catch myself thinking that I am afraid to walk late at night. Although just five years ago all young people had just begun their lives with the sunset. This is not the only example of control and excessive government regulation.

There is a local bank, which, for natural reasons, is limited to activities within the boundaries of the DPR on internal cards. There are exchange points on every corner. An interesting pattern, all the exchange points of Donetsk, regardless of remoteness from the center, district or size, keep a single rate. If you pay attention at the dollar rate at one exchange point, there is no doubt that the situation is similar at the opposite end of the city. Ever heard of fundamentals of a market economy? No. Even a child understands who and what is behind it. Residents just do not have another opportunity to cash out funds.

War is a time of propaganda. There is one, non-alternative aspect of media coverage. In the early days bloggers have tried to objectively (I highlight this word) reflect the situation, but these attempts were thwarted in the bud. Verbal warning, cellars, infliction of injury and life-threatening. However, thanks to the individual people for trying.
The civil servants of the lower and middle level have a special legal status. They cannot travel outside the Republic without obtaining permission from the governance. Where, when, with whom and why. It is not about Ukraine, they are not allowed to enter Ukraine at all.

It is a long story to tell. I will summarize by my example. Over the past few years, I was twice taken to the MGB for I was coming back late from work. In my defense, I will say the following. The salary at my official job is 6,000 rubles ($100). Not per day, and not per week. I have a side job. I bought SIM-cards on my phone twice only with my own passport, and now my phone is torn from messages about warnings, concerts, invitations, fairs. It feels like my number is in the public domain. Like it was distributed to everyone, without my knowledge and consent.

I had to provide double clearance of the purchase of real estate and pay the fee twice. As it turned out, for the period when notaries on local registries did not work here, the financial responsibility lied on me. Reissuance of a car is a whole epic. I do not have the right to choose products and household goods: the range is limited, and prices are unreasonably high.

But the most important are the security checkpoints. Every time I cross checkpoint, my things are studied in detail by the whole shift. Sometimes they seized my things, tore the labels, threw them away. Although I did not smuggle in anything prohibited or on a commercial scale.

Now more than ever, we value life, freedom of movement and the right to choose. The first is at stake, the second and the third are missing. !

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.29
TRX 0.12
JST 0.033
BTC 69715.93
ETH 3772.35
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.77