A Cool Graffiti in Moscow... and How to Find Places Using Google Map

in #graffiti5 years ago

I'd sure like to have a camera with a GPS Feature to be able to know exactly where I took my photos... but sadly, most camera manufacturers have ditched that feature, after experimenting a bit with it a couple of years ago. Heck, we can even be arrested (😨) if we use such a feature in repressive countries like China, North Korea, Saudi Arabia and Israel, just to name a few... so beware with your cameras and phones, when traveling to such medieval places!

This cute Graffiti is located in a back alley near Tverskaya Street (Тверская Улица), hidden from the main street. I found it completely by accident when I was looking for a Comics Book Store.

1b5zo15i0o.jpg

But more difficult than finding this Graffiti, was remembering where it was situated, 6 months later.


So, what can we do to find out the exact place where a photo was taken?

The only option I know is to use Google Maps and browse the maps, trying to find the place I had been to, at that particular date and time... When I think I'm close to it, I go to Street View to check if I recognise anything in that place. If I'm wrong, I head back to the Map View and try again.

No, it's not easy. And it takes a lot of time and effort. Sometimes it works, other times, no so much. After some investigative work, I was able to find the exact place of this Graffiti, in Moscow. I had to dig for a while, until I recognised it on Google Maps:

g58trbodke.png
Source: Google Maps

Yes, it was a bit tricky to find it... but I love SteemItWorldMap and I always try to use it to pinpoint my photos. I love to see the visual representation of the places I've been to, in SteemItWorldMap.com. Following this link, https://steemitworldmap.com/?author=trincowski, I can check out very quickly which places I already visited:

470ewi5113.png
Source: SteemItWorldMap


What about you? Do you use SteemItWorldMap? How many countries have you tagged so far?


CameraPanasonic Lumix DC-TZ90
LocationMoscow - Russia
Edited with GIMP

2e4z02s5fy.gif

Sort:  

pixresteemer_incognito_angel_mini.png
Congratz, your post has been resteemed and, who knows, will maybe appear in the next edition of the #dailyspotlights (Click on my face if you want to know more about me...)
Check the rules of the Daily Spotlights if you want to nominate someone!
Pixresteemer is also listed as promoter on The Steemians Directory

Great photo! I found many gems like this in my travels as well.
As for Google maps: I use it often. Sometimes to explore places I have not been, other times, to find a place where I had been (but maybe forgot the exact address). In your case, it is rather rare, since this looks more like a back-alley, and Google usually does not go there.
Or in this case: A friend posted a digital artwork showing a specific place in Paris. It didn't require much sleuthing, since the street name showed on the photo, and I found the exact spot. The interesting part of this was that his digital work was based on a earlier photo than the street view. Since his work, the dilapidated building had been renovated and a new store opened. https://main.weku.io/community-deals/@whornung/our-daily-ration-of-illusions

Yes, I know that is bound to happen. 😊
Thanks for your comment.

I think Ive only used steemitworldmap once. But I like how you always make use of it. I guess I need to go more places.
Nice find as usual.

Posted using Partiko iOS

Go to new places, take a photo... and add the tag! The most difficult thing is to remember where the photo was taken! 😅

I haven't used SteemItWorldMap for almost a year.

Не знаю. Перестал ставить метку.

Posted using Partiko iOS

Morning dear great one again gotta know how many graffiti have you blogged on, made me hooked on street art ! Did you see the blog contest by @tggr its right up your alley .....

No, I haven't. I'll take a look. Thanks for your visit.

Nice mural... Yep, always difficult to remember where you took a picture. But for me, it's to find out which artist did the work.

That is next to impossible, in most cases. 😁

So you can tag places you have already been too. Now that I would be interested in doing. I don’t quite understand it all. I have spent many years being under the radar. And now putting myself out there. Weird !!!

Ahahaahahah!

Hahaha
That Ahahaahahah! Seems to be a little understanding thrown in.
might have said a little to much. :)

WTG

That's a nice one! yeah, it can be tricky to remember where they are. Sometimes when I am back to a place I want to go looking for my favourites ones... I can see this one can be hard to find, quite hidden behind the garages.

Yes, it is. I tried to find a shortcut visible on my smartphone maps and I stumbled upon this piece. What a cool accident! 😁

Agree :) you were lucky.

Congratulations! This post has been upvoted from the communal account, @minnowsupport, by Trincowski from the Minnow Support Project. It's a witness project run by aggroed, ausbitbank, teamsteem, someguy123, neoxian, followbtcnews, and netuoso. The goal is to help Steemit grow by supporting Minnows. Please find us at the Peace, Abundance, and Liberty Network (PALnet) Discord Channel. It's a completely public and open space to all members of the Steemit community who voluntarily choose to be there.

If you would like to delegate to the Minnow Support Project you can do so by clicking on the following links: 50SP, 100SP, 250SP, 500SP, 1000SP, 5000SP.
Be sure to leave at least 50SP undelegated on your account.

Congratulations, Your Post Has Been Added To The Steemit Worldmap!
Author link: http://steemitworldmap.com?author=trincowski
Post link: http://steemitworldmap.com?post=a-cool-graffiti-in-moscow-and-how-to-find-places-using-google-map


Want to have your post on the map too?

  • Go to Steemitworldmap
  • Click the code slider at the bottom
  • Click on the map where your post should be (zoom in if needed)
  • Copy and paste the generated code in your post
  • Congrats, your post is now on the map!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.29
TRX 0.12
JST 0.033
BTC 62937.86
ETH 3092.40
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.87