The Grand National

Today is the day horse racing enthusiasts wait all year for, the Grand National.
A day of (hopefully) sun, excessive drinking and with any luck a nice big win at the bookies.
national3.jpg

On February 26th, 1839 the Grand Liverpool Steeplechase, steeplechase meaning there are jumps at intervals across the field which horse and jockey have to traverse, was run. This later became known as the Grand National.
It was held at Aintree racetrack in Liverpool where it is still held to this day.

national.jpeg

While i do not agree with the way some of the horses are treated or even forcing them to race at all, i accept the fact that it is a long standing tradition in the UK and i doubt it is going anywhere anytime soon. I am also partial to a cheeky bet here and there so i thought i'd try my luck and treated myself to a cool £40 worth of bets. Not so little it's not worth doing and not so much i'd lament betting entirely and ruin the rest of my weekend.

betslip.png

Here is my betslip, I've never had much luck on the national but i won't let that discourage me. I've gone for one favourite, that's Blaklion coming in at 14/1. I stand to make just under £100 if he wins.

I have also chosen two outside favourites ; Chase The Spud at 22/1 and The last Samuri at 20/1. I stand to make about £150 off them each if either place 1st.

My shot in the dark is the aptly named Road to Riches, at 50/1 he could make me over £300 if the stars align and he comes 1st. Here's hoping ey.

It makes sense that the 1st ever winning horse in this race was named "lottery" as that is what this race has become. There would be real surprise if any of the contenders won this race.

A final piece of information for you is that more women jockeys are competing today than in the events long history. A total of 3 women have managed to earn the right to compete today in what has been a male dominated sport for almost two centuries.

Have you placed any bets today?

Thanks for reading :)

Sort:  

@welshstacker stacker was doing a give away for this if you could pick first second and third. I picked the first place horse right! Too bad I wasn't betting.

Thats gutting bro, always worth a cheeky bet when it's once a year yano. I didn't have any luck either.

Congratulations @iblethebible! You have completed some achievement on Steemit and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

Award for the number of upvotes

Click on any badge to view your own Board of Honor on SteemitBoard.
For more information about SteemitBoard, click here

If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

Upvote this notification to help all Steemit users. Learn why here!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.29
TRX 0.13
JST 0.033
BTC 63133.02
ETH 3043.69
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.63