Grapevine

in #grapevine6 years ago

I was closing in on two years with England driving truck for them. I had leased my 2012 Freightliner and was trying this truck driving adventure Independently. I wasn't having much luck at it. Weather, mechanical difficulties, and just plain bad luck have taken their toll on this old man. I was looking forward to the end of my lease. I was not going to renew it and find something else to do for a living.

I had just picked up 35,000 lbs. of Breyers Ice Cream from a frozen foods distributor in Fontana, CA. I was headed North to Sacramento on Interstate 5 through a pass they call "Grapevine". I had never traversed it before but heard others talk about it. Better even, I heard others curse about it. This trip was to be in the cursing category.

The Grapevine has escape ramps branching off both sides of the downward part of the road for heavy trucks whose brakes fail on this five mile long, 6% grade.

Headed North down the pass on the other side of Grapevine, CA., yes they have a town called Grapevine, another trucker came beside me honking and pointing frantically to the back of my trailer.

OMG! I was on fire. The brakes on the trailer had overheated and caught fire. It is not the actual brake that burns it is the oil on them from road filth. There were actually flames wrapping themselves up the side of my trailer.

Looking around, there was no time to thank the other driver, I looked for a place to pull over. This was the grapevine. The only place to pull over was the Run-Away ramps if you found yourself in trouble.

I was in trouble.omp.jpg

Sort:  

Okay, that was creepy a bit. I can barely drive a car, let alone a huge truck...

I'm in charge of delivering the latest prompts, so here you go:
https://steemit.com/freewrite/@mariannewest/day-264-5-minute-freewrite-tuesday-prompt-food-to-the-table

Also, check out the latest post from the Freewrite House:
https://steemit.com/contest/@freewritehouse/week-12-win-a-membership-in-steem-basic-income-tell-us-about-a-favorite-freewrite

That sounds like a frightening experience! Glad you handled it ok.

I can't imagine driving a truck through one of those areas. I used to have my CDL, but only used it for dumptrucks/construction and never the triple-trailers I was licensed to drive.
How do they get you out of the gravel after you shoot up one of those?
Enjoyed your writing.

$850 tow bill and they fine you for the use of the escape ramp.

I had my triple and all the permits. Did some Hazmat but mostly reefer runs. I just wanted to go from Walmart to Walmart. But it was hard to make any money of your wheels did not move constantly.

Wow. I don't like to drive the grapevine with my regular car - can't even imagine in a truck. So, you had a bunch of melted ice cream I am assuming.
And the fine you for having an emergency? That is crazy!!!!!

So glad that you are writing with us!!

Wonderful! Your post was nominated and listed on our Freewrite Favorite curation post this week at the @freewritehouse

Thank you for participating & Keep up the great freewriting!

freewriteFavorites-300px.png

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.28
TRX 0.13
JST 0.032
BTC 65920.41
ETH 3016.79
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.71