I AM GRATEFUL TO BE SOBER [ENG]

in #gratefulvibes6 years ago (edited)

I AM GRATEFUL TO BE SOBER

#GRATEFULVIBES

This will not be an easy post for me to share. My only hope is that it may help another struggling human being.

Today, and for the past 8 days, I have done something I was thinking would soon be possible: I am sober.

background-3332559_1920.jpg

MY STORY:

For the past 6 years I have consumed cannabis/weed/pot. Over the past 3 years, my use has increased. I have been smoking copious amounts of weed everyday. I was what would be classified as a psychologically dependent cannabis user (abuser). This was of course, combined with alcohol. I am grateful to say that I have not quit because something bad occurred. At the same time, one post will not be enough to share all that has occurred. I know that many people struggle with Cannabis addiction. I have many friends that I know consume on a daily basis. I promise you here, my fellow Steemians, that I will share my experience with you in a series of posts. I am documenting my journey for my first 40 days and will be sharing in the future.

ABOUT CANNABIS ADDICTION:

Cannabis is the most widely used drug in the world. The plant has existed for over 6000 years and its history is parallel true history of our species. Cannabis is a plant with medicinal properties. When it's flowers and resin is heated and inhale or digested, it creates a psychotropic effect.

Psychotropic:
adjective.
relating to or denoting drugs that affect a person's mental state.
"a psychotropic drug"

Cannabis is becoming increasingly legalized in countries all over the world. First World countries like the United States and Canada are leading the charge in legalizing this drug. Because of my addiction, I have research this topic thoroughly. I have come to the conclusion that Cannabis is addictive. Research has shown that 9% of Cannabis users can become dependent. I would like to point out that the addiction is very much psychological. Cannabis is not as physically addicting as other drugs as cocaine and opioids, but it's addiction is essentially psychological.

I am one of that 9 % of users that became dependent. This is difficult for me to share because not many people in my life know of my use. I understand now that it's time to start a conversation about this though.

A note to other users: each individual experience is different. You are the only one that can judge if this is a problem for you. It was a problem for me, and I was beginning to think I had no solution.

how did I start my sobriety?

I have looked for divine intervention and found it.

I left my town for a few days to get away from all the temptation and went on a fasting retreat. I have searched for the Lord God and He has helped me.

I AM GRATEFUL

For now, I would just like to share my happiness with all of you. I am grateful to God that I am sober and recovering.

I am reaching out to all of you. If you think that you have a problem with weed / Cannabis, my hand is outstretched to you. Feel free to contact me directly; I'd be happy just to talk to you.

https://m.facebook.com/jonathan.norman.16906

Discord username: impatientoptim#6729

Join me in the #steemithonduras Discord channel
https://discord.gg/xhWXv6D

Sort:  

Congratulations on your sobriety. I am sure many people will state the obvious; that cannibus is not addictive and they are correct but you are also correct in that it can be psychologically addictive in certain people and any psychological dependence will inevitably lead to addictive behavior so congrats on making that leap into being clean and free. I have also been a regular user of cannibus in the past and have quit and feel so much, clarity. But man that first week was tough. Once again congrats on the post and the strength you have to share your experience. I work with chemically dependent patients as a Nurse and it can be truly anxiety provoking. Good luck and God bless. I hope to read more of your journey in the future.

It has not been proven if Cannabis is physically addictive. You are right: there is research to show that it can be psychologically addictive to some people. I think that addictions are very personal and only the person involved can define if they are addicted or not. I did not include the typical "I have nothing against weed" disclaimer that many use, because it definitely was a problem for me.

Thank you for your kind words. Also congratulations to you for the meaningful work that you do. I am now following you.

Absolutely. When it comes to addiction it is 100% subjective just like pain. No one can tell you that you are not craving something or feeling weird not taking it. No one can tell you it isn’t addictive if you feel you need it to function. Anything can be addictive, and congrats again on your journey and thanks for sharing. That takes a lot of integrity on your part. Best of luck and I look forward to reading more.

I've been sober for 8 years. The longer you go the easier it gets. Weed isn't physically addictive but booze is. Just stay away from bars and smash your bong and get a hobby and you'll be all good.

Following you!! Congrats!!

Yes, this is getting easier with everyday that passes. I've thrown everything out and working on keeping my mind busy. I plan to be here on Steemit more consistently. I'm glad to say alcohol is less of a temptation for me, but I won't have any for a good while in order to avoid Cannabis.
Thanks for stopping by. I am now following you.

Congratulations my good friend Jonathan!!
I'm resteeming this important post!!

Thanks for the heavy vote, brother! Your support is highly appreciated.
In the future, I will be posting more about my journey to freedom and hopefully help others.

I will be following your posts. Please leave me a link in discord when you post.
Good job my friend!! You have my full support!!

Will do. Thanks for the support. I honestly feel it.

Congratulations @impatientoptim! You have completed some achievement on Steemit and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

Award for the number of posts published

Click on any badge to view your own Board of Honor on SteemitBoard.

To support your work, I also upvoted your post!
For more information about SteemitBoard, click here

If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

Upvote this notification to help all Steemit users. Learn why here!

This post has received a 5.52 % upvote from @boomerang.

Congrats nice post very helpful.

Wow. Huge congratulations @impatientoptim on your sobriety. I am so happy for you and happy that you turned to God for help, because with God all things are possible and He controls it all.
I am also so happy that you made it here on this platform to share your life story, which I believe will help you by sharing it and talking about it and others who will read this and are going through this addiction.
Great post my friend and I can't wait to hear more and follow your journey.
I'm praying for your strength and that God will help you through this and I can't wait to see you defeat this mountain/devil whatever you want to call it and help others with your story.

because with God all things are possible

I know this because I did try everything. I must have tried quitting dozens of times; I tried slowly weaning off, I deleted my contacts and so many other small tricks to quit. Nothing worked for me. I could only have done it with help from the Lord God.
Thank you for the encouragement. I am happy to report I am still going strong, still clean. Talking about it with you fine people here has helped, and I will post more about my journey for others.
Have a lovely day @joalvarez

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.27
TRX 0.11
JST 0.030
BTC 70759.18
ETH 3812.30
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.44