HOME REPAIR WHEN THE LIGHTS DON'T WORK

in #gratefulvibes5 years ago (edited)

Today I had a problem with the downstairs bathroom lights not working. I checked the breaker box and none were tripped, this was now a real puzzle. The bathroom where the lights didn't work was right next door to the furnace room with the breaker box. In fact both, the bathroom and furnace room lights were on the same circuit. Since the breaker did not trip, it had to be something else causing the bathrooms lights not to work.

I noticed that the bathroom had a GFCI receptacle (GFCI = Ground Fault Circuit Indicator), and checked to see if the GFCI was reset. NO it was tripped, and would not reset. Now I had an idea this needed to be replaced. So I went to Home Depot and purchased replacement for $18.

The instructions indicated that with my wiring setup I should call an electrician for the installation. However I chose to attempt it myself. The most imprtant thing is recognizing which wires are LINE and which are LOAD.

After reading the instructions completely and comparing the old and new receptacles, I figured out which wires go where. On both receptacles the white wires went to the silver screw terminal, and the black wires went to the brass screw terminal. Also the ground wire from both connected to the ground terminal.

I took my time and needed a flashlight, but I accomplished this replacement in less than one hour, and the bathroom lights are now working perfectly!



Thanks for visiting, have a awesome day!!


VOTE @STEEMGIGS FOR WITNESS



WANT MORE UPVOTES?
Join the @gratefulvibes family curation trail
Info at this link: GV Family Trail


Sort:  

And saved yourself a fortune not having to phone in a repair man :)

Yep, you are right!! 😁 Thanks Karen!!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.30
TRX 0.12
JST 0.033
BTC 64222.08
ETH 3135.29
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.99